Mushroom and Chestnut Tart

Mushroom and Wild Chestnut Tart

Wild Mushroom and Chestnut Tart

The mushrooms asre funnel caps and wood mushrooms sliced and mixed with roasted chestnuts . Laid on rolled puff pastry , drizzled over with egg and a little milk and baked at 220deg for 20 minuntes.

Its terrifying when you suddenly realise how like one of your parents you might become…………..

I have always known my cooking confidence came from my mother, a woman who will ably cook a massive range of dishes all at the same time. I never knew what a ready-meal was growing up but I did no how to make tomato pasta sauce , that it was a treat to be allowed to make roux sauce m that leftover was not a dirty word but an opportunity…. From my mum I have my photographic knowledge of my fridge the myriad of food combinations buzz through my minds like database relationships … combining with the related herbs and spices..

From my dad I got the ability to develop a weird rapid all comsuming obssession with things … in order of development for him …. books…..model trains, caving ,bookbinding,stamps…. fungi ,kites … I can only imagine what would have happened if ebay had been around while he was alive .. as it is I blame him for my “Skipping devotion” ….. ( this week whiteboard and coathangers galore… from office re-development )

Most of my dads obsessions rubbed off at some point but clearly fungi is the one that is taking hold ( see my photostream … combining so well as it does with my mums cooking ability……. perfect genetic combination)
So I have signed up for classes with expert mycologist ( fungi guy) … though I have led a few walking fungi groups it is always with the cavaeat I have no idea what I am talking about and am merely giving you some good locations and walking directions (…and mostly cos I have been bullied into it )
Though mainly classroom based ( getting the ” science bit ” into my head always appeals ) learning to idenfity by official colour charts ( see below ) and learn terms like adnexed adnate sinaute , umbo, papilla………………

Fungi Colour Chart

Its also nice learning with others

The group identifying......

sharing the different things you have found … in this case many hands and eyes make very light work of a forest floor in just a few hours

I deliberately picked plenty of things I never do usually …. they scream inedible …. only to discover they are most tasty and I should have been grabbing them years ago

Identifying

I am heading back to the collecting area tommorrow and firmly expect to bump into most of the group

This entry was posted in Autumn, Pies Quiches and Tarts, Wild Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mushroom and Chestnut Tart

  1. I like the helpful info you supply in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and take a look
    at again here frequently. I’m reasonably certain I’ll be told a lot of new stuff right here!
    Good luck for the next!

  2. An interesting discussion is definitely worth comment.
    I do believe that you ought to publish more on this subject matter, it might not be a taboo matter but
    generally folks don’t talk about these subjects. To the next! Kind regards!!

Leave a Reply

