Plum Frangipane Tart

Plum Frangipane Tart

Neither I nor the weekend host have very sweet teeth, but since my “sorry I have been so grumpy brownies” went down so well with the promise of dinner out by the canal while the sun lasts , thought I would attempt a little more baking to make my first ever frangipane tart.

There were some plums to use up and some suspiciously old looking ground almonds hanging around in the weekend guests cupboard decided to make my first ever frangipane tart. Would have been much easier if I hadn’t discovered the weekend host had hardboiled the remaining eggs .Pastry I can handle no problem but I was a bit worried about the frangipane ,and I was using a cast iron pan instead of a tart tin , queen of improvisation me , however is rose beautifully could maybe have done with a few more plums but thats was we call in the project management trade – learning

Fab with ice cream and I may have to try this frangipan lark with a few more fruit before the summers end which by the look of the darkening clouds is about 5 minutes away

Plum Frangipane Tart

300g of Short Crust pastry ( made using 200g of flour to 100g of butter add approx 30ml water)
10 smallish plums

Frangipane
100g unsalted butter
100g caster sugar
2 eggs, beaten
2 tbsp Brandy
75g of ground almonds
4tsp tbsp plain flour

  1. Preheat the oven to 200C/
  2. Roll out the pastry and line a rectangular tart tin ( actually weekend guest didn’t have one so used a cast iron pan that can go in the oven , prick the base lightly with a fork. Cover and chill.
  3. Make the frangipane beat together the butter and sugar until pale and creamy , then beat in the eggs
  4. Stir in the brandy, almonds and flour.
  5. Spread the frangipane evenly over the base of the pastry case.
  6. Remove the stones from the plum and cut into quarters. Gently push the plum quarters into the frangipane.
  7. . Place the tart in the oven and bake for 10-15 minutes or until the pastry is beginning to brown. Reduce the oven temperature to 180C/gas 4 and continue to bake for 35 minutes.
  8. . Remove the tart from the oven and leave to cool slightly.
  9. If had any icing sugar would have dusted it but none lurking around
This entry was posted in July, Summer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Plum Frangipane Tart

  1. Misty says:

    Ooh, thanks!

    I used to have a very similar recipe, but lost it somewhere, so I shall definitely have to try this one :)

    Sounds very tasty.

  2. peasepudding says:

    Aren’t frangipane tarts the best and so versitile? Your plum tart looks delicious.

  3. I have been looking for a recipe like this thanks, love you improvised relaxed style, I used to make this years ago but I have no idea what happened to my recipe :)

Leave a Reply

