Tomato and Haricot Bean Soup

Tomato and Haricot Bean Soup

Baked Beans in tomato sauce the fancy version. I had soaked the beans planning on using them at the weekend but change of plans meant they still needed eating so whipped up this soupy stew. Dinner watching Torchwood and Dr Who on BBC I-player my guilty geeky pleasure .

Tomato and Haricot Bean Soup

300g of dried haricot beans
300g of tinned plum tomatoes
1 clove of garlic finely chopped
1/2 small onion
1 pint of vegetable stock
Salt and Pepper

After soaking the beans for at least 8 hours
Cover the haricot beans with water a simmer for 30 minutes
Drain and add the tomatoes and vegetable stock
Finally add fresh or dried herbs , thyme , oregano
Simmer for a further 20 minutes

Of course I ended up using some of the wild garlic butter to finish it off and a few fresh wild garlic leaves.

This entry was posted in April, Summer, Wild Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tomato and Haricot Bean Soup

  1. Joanna says:

    So often I soak the beans with one thing in mind and end up cooking something completely different two days later ;)

    These look good, really good

    I hope you don’t mind, I’ve tagged you for a meme

    Joanna

  2. Amateur Cook says:

    Serve me a bowl of that with a thick slice of buttered bread while I’m seated inside in front of a heater watching the cold Winter rain fall outside my window. That’s comfort food!

  3. John says:

    Thanks so much for your simple yet flexible recipe.

    I’ve now prepared it twice; while simmering the prepared beans, I satuee/soften 1-2 diced onions, as much minced garlic as I want, 2 diced carrots in olive oil with loads of freshly-ground black pepper, red chilli flakes, and at least 1/2 tsp. herbs de provence. I suppose one could add some diced bacon if desired. I add this mixture to the beans with the tomatoes and stock. After cooking I’ve served it over yellow rice (just boiled rice cooked with about 1/2 tsp. turmeric and some more chilli flakes).

    Great hangover food.

Leave a Reply

