Paddington Marmalade Souffle

Marmalade Souffle

Up in London today , had ought my ticket yesterday for travel today only to find on attempting to go through the barrier this morning , they had sold me a ticket for for the day before . Managed to get it correct though in these situations I am increasingly finding that looking as if you are on the verge of tears works better than calm rationality

It is the Easter holidays so the train was packed with young children on of whom decided to look out the window and I do not exaggarate climbed into my lap under the full adoring gaze of its mother . Now I admit as I am coming up to 30 there are times when this would probably cause my uterus to skip and beat , but when you are busy reading papers for a meeting its a little tricky so I gave up my seat. Intense meetings.

Paddington Station

Leaving Paddington station went much more calmly , the train magazine featured an interview with Paddington Bear the character from my childhood who every English child knows loves his Marmalade sandwiches . Marmalade in case you are not familiar is a bitter orange jam/jelly eaten on toast for breakfast .

Thoughts of marmalde sparked memory of How to Cook… with Delia episode ,made a frighteningly easily and impressive looking Marmalade Souffle with just two ingredients egg whites and marmalade . Now known as the “Before she went a bit loopy and stared cooking oven chips Delia” , I couldn’t find a recipe online anywhere so this was my interpretation, very tasty and although Delia used sugar free marmalade I decided to live dangerously and use the full sugar stuff

The souffle was very tasty it puffed up well, but hard to photograph before it went pluuurrrrrfffff . It really reminded my of a bitter orangey lemon meringue ,makes me want to try it with a ginger preserve as well so watch this space.

In the meantime my calmness returned , I wonder what my trip to Bridgwater tommorrow could inspire ?

Paddington Marmalade Souffle

This will fill one 10cm diameter x 8cm tall ramekin enough for one person so multiply quantities to feed more, I have not tested baking this in a large souffle dish probably best to keep to a small dish per person

1 heaped teaspoon of marmalade
1 egg whites

Preheat the oven to 190degC
Beat the egg whites until fluffy and peaking
Stir in the marmalde , but do not beat or you will lose the air in the eggs
Fill the ramekins with the mixture , should be three quarters full
Bake for 20 minutes

Marmalade Souffle

Technorati Tags:

This entry was posted in April, Summer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Paddington Marmalade Souffle

  1. Su-Lin says:

    How wonderfully simple! I have a jar of ginger curd that needs using up – I hope it will work as well as the marmalade.

  2. Joanna says:

    OMG … it’s genius ….

    I LOVE your picture of Paddington – it’s “my” London station, and I often find myself staring up at the beauty of that roof

    Joanna

  3. Sophie says:

    Going through Paddington station hardly ever works out calmly for me.

    I just can’t believe this only has two ingredients to it!

  4. I noticed that this is not the first time at all that you write about the topic. Why have you decided to touch it again?

Leave a Reply

