Red and Green Lentil Pasta Sauce

Red and Green Lentil Pasta Sauce

I have not been my usual prolific posting self recently getting my head around some exciting work projects involving some London commuting well as my regional work.

It all come at a bit of a rush and has been evenings meals based on cereal and milk . The result was a total body rebellion in the form of a viscious cold striking at the beggining of the Bank Holiday weekend . My promise to myself therefore to become more organised and make sure the freezer is stocked for late returns home .

This pasta sauce is one of those maximum taste recipes that freezes really well and has been part of my repertoire since my vegetarian student days . It combines both two types of lentils to give maximum texture contrasts , the green lentils keep a nutty bite while the red lentils pretty much dissolve giving a velvet thickness to the sauce. This sauce really exceeds its basic and cheap ingredients .

If you are eating immediately , mix the sauce with cooked pasta and
warm through it really benefits from being allowed to
thoroughly coat the pasta .

The sauce will keep well for a
couple of days in the fridge or can be frozen which I have to do
quickly as I am prone to eating it straight from the bowl

This makes 6 one -person portions

Red and Green Lentil Pasta Sauce

100g of green lentils , contienental or puy
100g of red lentils
4 cloves of garlic finely chopped
1 small onion finely chopped
400g ( 1 can ) of tinned tomatoes
1 pint of warm water
2 tbsp of dried mixed herbs
Salt and Pepper
1/2 cup of red wine

  1. Fry the onion and garlic in a little oil in a lidded saucepan
  2. Add the lentils , tomatoes , water herbs and wine
  3. Bring to the boil and simmer for 40 minutes
  4. Season to taste with salt and pepper
This entry was posted in May, Summer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Red and Green Lentil Pasta Sauce

  1. Niamh says:

    This sounds delicious, I must give it a go. i adore lentils, they are so underused.

  2. Sophie says:

    Becky this sounds fab – I love dishes to have lots of texture as well as flavour (pasta can easily be a bit dull!). And very frugal too!

    I had a cold over the weekend too. It was really wet here so I’m glad I was at home with mine rather than camping :-)

  3. andrew says:

    yum….always looking for new lentil recipes and new pasta sauces, so this is a nobrainer…

  4. easy recipes says:

    I love food that makes me smile, full of colors and passion. Thank You!

  5. I Like your pasta recipe!

  6. Will says:

    amazing – a great way to use up not only green but red lentils too! coming from a student who’s run out of money to buy other food…!

Leave a Reply

