Guinea Fowl with Lentils

Guinea Fowl with Lentils

Not only am do I need to empty my own freezer but the lovely boyfreind has informed me there is a preponderance of fowl in his freezer , a mallard duck and a guinea fowl . Stowed by after my trip to Borough Market back in March.

Guinea fowl , I really liked this when I cooked it before with smoked sausage and butter beans , I was a bit worried that roast or casserole would be to heavy in June, luckily the changable British weather obliged and after a sunny Saturday BBQ , on Sunday clouded over.

Now Guinea Fowl I have heard can often be dry so I opted for a casserole rather than roasting and adapted a recipe I had used for chicken with lentils

Guinea Fowl with lentils

Serves 4

1 medium guinea fowl
200g of green lentils
2 pints of water
Salt and Pepper
Bunch of thyme
1/2 glass of red wine

  1. Season the guinea fowl with salt and pepper
  2. Place the guinea fowl and lentils in an oven proof dish
  3. Pour over the water , wine , thyme leaves
  4. Cover a bring to a boil on the hob
  5. Place in a medium oven / 200degC for approx 1 hour.
  6. Check half way through and add more water if it has all been absorbed by the lentils
  7. On serving taste the lentils and season with salt and pepper

Once cooked this can be mixed with seasonal green vegetables in this case I used steamed fresh broad beans and spring cabbage

This entry was posted in June, Summer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guinea Fowl with Lentils

  1. I don’t know if it’s just me or if perhaps everybody else encountering issues with your site.
    It appears like some of the written text in your content are
    running off the screen. Can someone else please provide feedback and
    let me know if this is happening to them as well? This could be a issue with my browser because
    I’ve had this happen before. Kudos

  2. My brother recommended I might like this web site. He was entirely
    right. This post actually made my day. You can not imagine simply how much time
    I had spent for this information! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

