Mashed Broad Beans with Preserved Lemon & Mint on Walnut Toast

Mashed Broad Beans with Preserved Lemon & Mint on  Walnut Toast

This isn’t just beans on toast , this is organic Riverford broad beans on homeade walnut bread toast …. it was my very tasty lunch , the mashed broad beans would also work really well with pasta I think or as an accompaniment to lamb or fish. The preserved lemon adds a real zingy citrus shot .

I realised going through my photo archive the lemons in this jar are more than two years old . Living in at least 3 different houses . Scary no the preserved lemons just get prettier with age and make excellent gifts.

Sneakily once a jar has got going I will often bung in juiced lemon skins how is that for recycling , they are ready in a few weeks.

Mashed Broad Beans with Preserved Lemon and Mint

100g of broad beans
1 tbsp of preserved lemon
1 tbsp of olive oil
1 tbsp of fresh mint
1 tbsp of crumbly goats cheese
Pepper to season

  1. Boil the broad beans for 5 minutes
  2. Peel the broad beans and finely chop half with the preserved lemon , goats cheese and mint
  3. Mix with the whole broad beans and olive oil
  4. Serve on thick toast or as a vegetable accompaniments

Preserved Lemons


Spiced Preserved Lemons

8 unwaxed lemons
200g of sea salt
75g of spices coriander seeds , cumin seed, star anise dried chillis and a bay leaf with a large quantity of sea salt

You can miss out the spices but they add even more spark to the lemons and make the jar look very pretty

  1. Cut whole lemons in half
  2. In a clean 1 litre preserving jar , layer lemons with salt and and spice mix in a preserving jar ,presssing down hard to squeeze the juice to cover lemons
  3. After a few days check more juice will have come out and you may be able to fit in more lemons
  4. Leave in the fridge for minimum of a 6 weeks

Preserved lemons are delicious in salads and particularly good with fish but use sparingly the preserving concentrates the flavour


Walnut Bread

50g of crushed walnuts
400g of strong white flour
20 ml olive oil
380ml of warm water
1 tsp of dried yeast
1 tsp of sugar
1 tsp of salt

  1. Mix together all the ingredients
  2. Leave to prove in a warm place for 1 hour
  3. Knead well , shape place on baking sheet and leave for a further half house
  4. Bake in a preheated oven at 200degC for 45 minutes
  5. Remove from the oven and leave to cool

Another bread recipe to tick off , simply a white bread recipe with added walnuts , turn the bread a delicious brown colour .


This entry was posted in July, Summer and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Mashed Broad Beans with Preserved Lemon & Mint on Walnut Toast

  1. Pingback: Hedge Garlic Roasted Chicken and Potatoes « Girl Interrupted Eating

  2. Pingback: Spicy Mutton Tagine « Girl Interrupted Eating

  3. Pingback: Charcoal Grilled Spiced Leg of Lamb « Girl Interrupted Eating

  4. Pingback: Roasted Preserved Lemon Chicken with Cauliflower , Squash and Chickpea Salad « Girl Interrupted Eating

  5. Pingback: BBQ Shoulder of Lamb with Broad Bean Feta Mint , BBQ Beetroot Salad and Preserved Lemon Hummus « Girl Interrupted Eating

  6. Pingback: Pomegranate Molasses Braised Shoulder of Lamb with Roasted Cauliflower Salad and Beetroot with Mint Yogurt « Girl Interrupted Eating

  7. Pingback: Chipolte Sauce « Girl Interrupted Eating

  8. Pingback: Wet Garlic and Preserved Lemon Risotto with Slow Roasted Tomatoes | Girl Interrupted Eating

  9. Pingback: Runner Bean , Red Pepper and Fennel Stew | Girl Interrupted Eating

  10. Pingback: Girl Interrupted Eating

  11. And I felt I was good at writing, your a captain compared to me.

  12. Spot on with this write-up, I honestly feel this website needs a great deal more attention.
    I’ll probably be returning to see more, thanks for the info!

  13. Jewell says:

    With havin so much content do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright infringement?
    My blog has a lot of completely unique content
    I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my agreement. Do you know any methods to help prevent content from being ripped off? I’d
    genuinely appreciate it.

  14. Thomas says:

    It is not my first time to pay a visit this website, i am browsing this web page dailly
    and obtain nice information from here all the time. by Irvin see my site Thomas

  15. Lara says:

    I tend not to create a comment, however I looked at a few of the comments on Mashed Broad
    Beans with Preserved Lemon & Mint on Walnut Toast | Girl Interrupted Eating.
    I actually do have 2 questions for you if you do not mind.

    Is it just me or do some of these responses come across like they are left by brain dead people?
    :-P And, if you are posting at other sites, I’d like to follow everything new you have to post. Would you list of the complete urls of all your shared pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  16. azafran says:

    Thanks for any other informative web site. The place else may just I get that
    type of info written in such an ideal approach?
    I’ve a mission that I’m just now running on, and I’ve been on the glance out for such info.

  17. Romeo says:

    As a substitute, they are worked out to go through the concrete plane and
    set down their elements into the pores. This coating is the most widely used as
    it forms a hard durable surface and a strong bond
    on the concrete. Having polished concrete floors is what people
    love to do today.

  18. Good info. Lucky me I discovered your site by chance
    (stumbleupon). I have book-marked it for later!

  19. Vernell says:

    Hello my loved one! I wish to say that this post is amazing, great written and include almost
    all significant infos. I would like to peer more posts like this .

  20. In fact no matter if someone doesn’t be aware of afterward its up to other people that they will assist, so here it occurs.

  21. What a stuff of un-ambiguity and preserveness of precious know-how on the topic of unexpected
    feelings.

  22. I’m not that much of a online reader to
    be honest but your sites really nice, keep it
    up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back later on.
    Many thanks

  23. Hi there mates, how is the whole thing, and what you would like to
    say on the topic of this article, in my view its genuinely
    amazing for me.

  24. These are truly fantastic ideas in on the topic of blogging.
    You have touched some pleasant factors here. Any way keep up wrinting.

  25. Bianca says:

    I read his piece off writing completely about the comparison of newest and
    previous technologies, it’s remarkable article.

  26. Hey! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist wuth SEO?
    I’m tryjng to get my bloig to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good gains.
    If you know of any please share. Many thanks!

  27. I am not sure where you’re getting your information, but great
    topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.
    Thanks for great information I was looking for this information for my mission.

Leave a Reply

