Corn Chowder and My Fridge

Sweetcorn Chowder

I don’t really get much of a chance to work from home anymore ,even though the commute to London is a bit of a hassle I have really loved being part of a team again especially being part of the tea round . Working from home today meant on my 50 trips to the fridge for milk for my tea I had a good chance to contemplate my fridge door quite by coincidence A Wee Bit of Cooking (one of my most read blogs) is running a competition for readers to post pictures of their fridge doors so here is mine and a few notes of explanation .

My fridge door

I am not massively into fridge magnets, I once lived with someone who collected 3D magnets that fell off every time you opened or closed the fridge door , the guilt at breaking such precious things remains with me. I have also had those magnetic poetry on my fridge but I found it meant the fridge door was very hard to keep clean and eventually these began to rust onto the fridge.

I like the little hand magnets I have now and they do actually hold things onto the fridge though I have no recollection how I came to own them .

Clockwise from the top left hand corner

  • Photo of two snails meeting on a leaf . I took this photo in a wood near Gloucester and it was on the first card I gave my boyfriend , he still has a copy on his fridge too.
  • ” Asylum for Teaching Young Females Household Work” , this fridge magnet plaque is a witty reference to my lack of natural housework abilities .
  • Fungi Photo , another photo I took . I am never happier than kneeling in leaf mould getting shots of tiny fungi and flora. I do also forage a lot for wild food , which often end up in the fridge for cooking
  • Photo of the lovely boyfriend and I on holiday , we are seperated by a hundred miles or so in the week , this is so I don’t forget what he looks like.
  • Turkish evil eye , this charm wards off evil …. scary things can live in fridges . If you have seen Ghostbusters or my vegetable drawer after a weekend away you will know what I mean.
  • Thank you card was from my former work colleagues who I left just a few months or what feels like a hundred lifetimes ago , it there to remind me not to lost touch.

Enough about my fridge this a food blog & working from home also meant the chance for some breif cooking at lunchtime. Two small corn on the cob in the aforementioned vege-drawer which I had planned to devour freshly steamed and dripping in butter where a little dried up. Cursing my wastefulness I decided to turn them into soup from very few ingredients and a little internet research I made a large bowl of corn chowder which turned out creamy and delicious though I am sure not authentic

Corn Chowder
Fresh corn from two small corn on the cob
1/2 pint of vegetable stock
1 spring onion finely chopped
1/2 pint of milk

  1. Simmer togther the corn , spring onion and vegetable stock for 15 minutes
  2. Blend together and simmer for a further 10 minutes this brings the starch out of the corn and thickens the soup.
  3. Add the milk and serve with fresh chives or parsley
This entry was posted in Autumn, September and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Corn Chowder and My Fridge

  1. Wendy says:

    Love it! Especially the fungi photo. It’s gorgeous. :)

  2. Wendy says:

    PS Are you joining in the competition? If yes, could you send me the photo please. :)

Leave a Reply

