Calves Liver with Chorizo and Balsamic Caramlised Onions

Calves Liver with Chorizo and Balsamic Caramlised Onions

Greensmiths the butcher/deli grocer which opened round the corner from work a few months ago has become a regular huant for me and by haunt I mean I stand with my face pressed against the window gazing at produce. Greensmiths stocks meat from the Ginger Pig in Yorkshire all beautifully presented and expertly cut . My boss mentioned they had a large piece of calvers liver and knowing my food obsession asked me what to do with it . Shamingly I had to confess I had never cooked it before , but once logged in my brain spent the next two hours thinking about calves liver and had to run out at lunchtime and buy some.

The butcher cut the liver to half a centimeter width , each slice was about 25cm long and 15cm wide , like a large beefsteak Some internet research suggested onions and bacon , but wanted something I bit kickier so I used some chorizo and decided to caramlise the onions with a little sherry vinegar . Calves liver like all livers shouldn’t be cooked for too long since it will become tough so I cooked it for the breifest of time
The result melt in the mouth liver with a light meaty taste not overly ferrous with plenty of cabbage and mashed potatoes

Calves Liver with Chorizo and Balsamic Caramlised Onions

Serves 2

200g of calves liver
1 small onion
1 clove of garlic
50g of chorizo roughly chopped
1 tbsp of olive oil
1 tsbp of french mustard
10ml tbsp of balsamic vinegar
20ml of water
1 tsp of dried thyme
1 tsp of butter

Season the liver on both sides with pepper
Fry chorizo , onion and garlic in oil until the onion has softened.
Add the balsamic vinegar , french mustard , water simmer until reduced
Warm the butter in a pan until it begins to bubble add the calves liver fry for just 20 seconds on one side , 10 seconds on the last side

This entry was posted in February, Winter. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Calves Liver with Chorizo and Balsamic Caramlised Onions

  1. Ginger says:

    That sounds like a great combination, I only ever do it with bacon. I should cook more with liver, it’s so tasty and reasonable too.

  2. Lexi Leven says:

    Chorizo…..mmm! Sounds delicious!

  3. rich says:

    Liver is banned in our house. I’ve tried to bring it home, but I’m simply not allowed to…I have to wait until my wife is out before smuggling any kind of offal home, and even then, she hates the lingering smell.

Leave a Reply

