Lasagne

Lasagne

Why hasn’t lasagne made it onto my blog before , I think because it is often not very photogenic, and thats a terrible reason not to put something on , because I love lasagne.

Lasagne is a dish of my childhood , my mum reckons  there is not a child alive who doesn’t eat it so when school freinds came for dinner we always had a massive dish of lasagne .  Still whenever someone goes into hospital the first thing my mum does it make and deliver a lasagne to the abandoned family.

I can also chart my childhood cookery progress  through lasagne.  First I was allowed to grate the cheese , later make the whole bechamel sauce , later the meat sauce and  during my time as a vegetarian I learnt to make a tasty lentil filling .

For me making a lasagne is a joyously times consuming activity which shouldn’t be rushed .

The beschamel  sauce is satisfying to make from scratch, to make
its extra luxurious , stirring  it with a rosemary stalk imparts a
herby taste and I have also added white wine but the real secret has to
be to use a strong cheese , very mature cheddar or even stilton

Meat sauce these days  has expanded to include lentils and olives to give  texture. It also contains  both beer and wine . I find the beer acts as a good replacement for beef stock which I don’t really have since we don’t often have beef on the bone
.

Lasagne

I like the pasta to be cooked but still a little chewy crispy chewy edges . I have to stop myself eating it cold from the pan.

Smoked Ham Hock and Split Pea Soup

Lasagne Assembly

Feeds 6

10 sheets of dried lasagne
My lasagne dish which is 50cm long X30cm wide and 20cm tall

  1. Layer of bolagnese sauce (recipe below ), followed by a layer of pasta followed by
  2. sauce to 3/4 of the way up the dish finally pour over the beschamel sauce ( recipe below) . I have tried laying the beschamel  sauce alongside  with the meat sauce but its seems to just vanish into the pasta and I love a cheesy layer
  3. Scatter grated cheese over the top and a few sprinkles of fresh rosemary and black pepper
  4. Bake at 150degC for 40 minutes

Bolagnese Sauce

400g of minced beef
200g of red lentils
600g of chopped tinned plum tomatoes
1 large onion finely chopped
4 cloves of garlic minued
1litre  of water
200ml of red wine
200ml of dark ale
3 tbsp of roughly chopped stoned olives ( black and green)
3 tbsp of olive oil
3 tbsp of mixed herbs ( Dried Oregano , parsley and rosemary)
Salt and Pepper

  1. Heat the olive oil in the pan.
  2. Fry the onion and garlic til soft, then add the meat in batchs to brown
  3. If you want to make this vegetarian replace the meat with 300g of green/continental lentils
  4. Once browned add the tomatoes , lentils , wine , ale and half the water
  5. Simmer for at least an hour on a low heat with the lid off , add more water if it begins to look too dry
  6. Add the olives and mixed herbs
  7. Add the other half of the water simmer for a further hour.

Beschamel (White) Sauce

Makes 1.5 pints of sauce

1.5 pints milk
2 heaped tbsps butter
2 heaped tbsp of plain flour
200g of cheddar cheese (- half stilton if available)

  1. Melt the butter in a pan  add the  plain flour and cook for a few minutes on a low heat
  2. Begin to add the milk a little at a time , stirring continuously until it has all been incorporated
  3. The milk should thicken to form a glossy sauce.
  4. Finally add the cheese saving a little for the top of the lasagne , stir well taste and if required season with a little salt and pepper

Lasagne


This entry was posted in March, Spring. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lasagne

  1. Ginger says:

    I love lasagne too, never thought of flavouring the bechamel with rosemary though, that’s inspired!

  2. Alex says:

    This one looks photogenic with the addition of the rosemary! Herbs pretty up anything, don’t they?

  3. betty says:

    the CHEESE alone makes my mouth water at the sight of this….i’m the same way about the edges!

  4. Pingback: Planning for Post Pregnancy | Girl Interrupted Eating

Leave a Reply

