Ox Tongue Braised In Red Wine

Ox Tongue braised in red wine

Not a dish for the squeamish this one or those looking for a quick dish . On Thursday up in Sheffield I saw whole Ox Tongues for sale  for just 1pound each . Since I had braised Ox Tongue at the Pumphouse, I have wanted to try cooking it.

Ox Tongue

Thank heavens for the internet which advised a lot cooking ,first a gentle simmer for a couple of hours to cook and add a gentle flavour

then braise to finish.


Cooking Ox Tongue

1 tsp of peppercorns
1tsp of cloves
1 tsbp of mustards seeds
1 medium onion
Mixture of herbs parsley , sage and thyme
Enough water to cover the tongue

  1. Place all the ingredients in a large saucepan
  2. Bring the water to the boil then turn to a low heat and simmer for 2.5 hours
  3. While the tongue is still warm , remove the skin this   is really just a case of peeling the tongue ( click here for the full grusome images)
  4. Once peeled you can then slice the ox tongue, some recipes talked about removing a bone , but there was no bone in my tongue.

Sliced Ox Tongue

Once cooked ox tongue can be  eaten cold and over at Nose to Tail at Home Ryan faithfully recreats Fergus Hendersons Nose to Tail recipes . This is one of my favourite & unusual blogs , Ryan channels fergus to offer a range of options for cold tongue.

I wanted something pretty substantial and so went for a braised tongue , but couldn’t find any recipes that really appealed so I improvised. The result some lengthy slow cooking resulted in some  melt in the mouth meat .that somehow retained a delicate beef flavour . Slow cooking gave a  delicous sauce soaking into the mounds of mashed potato. Morever  while the outside of the tongue slices turned almost black from the wine the inside remained pink.

I will be making this again when I can find Ox Tongue closer to home, it may have taken a while to cook but it was definitely worth it.

Ox Tongue braised in red wine

Ox Tongue Braised In Red Wine

Serves 4

1 Ox Tongue , first cooked , peeled and sliced as above
200g carrots finely chopped
200g of mushrooms finely chopped
1 medium onion finely chopped
3 clove of garlic finely chopped
500ml of red wine
200ml of the cooking liquid from above strained
2 sprigs of rosemary
1 tsp of mustard seeds
3 tbsp of olive oil
Salt and Pepper

  1. In a cast iron lidded pot , heat the olive oil  add the mustard sees , garlic , onion and carrots
  2. Fry for a few minutes but do not allow to brown
  3. Add the mushrooms and  the sliced tongue
  4. Pour over the red wine and cooking liquid
  5. Adhttp://www.flickr.com/photos/beckayork/3434249844/d the rosemary and plenty of salt and pepper
  6. Place in an oven at 150degC for 2 hours.
  7. If possible leave overnight and heat the next day like most braised or stewed food it improves with time and resting
  8. Heat through and served with mashed potatoes

Calves Liver with Chorizo and Balsamic Caramlised OnionsScotch Eggs -Pre BakingChicken liver, fennel and cumin crouton salad

This entry was posted in May, Summer. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Ox Tongue Braised In Red Wine

  1. them apples says:

    Blimey, you’re brave!

    It looks a bit like really good corned beef in the final photo.

    A quid for a whole tongue is an absolute bargain though, and it does look offally good (sorry, sorry, sorry. I’m ashamed of myself. Really, I am)

  2. BreadintheBone says:

    I’ve made tongue a couple of times, but only up to the end of your first recipe (I put a few juniper berries in, too.) Tongue was something we had reasonably often when I was a child in the states. The rest of your recipe is a great idea, and I’ll put it in my collection!

    I get tongue from a local farm butcher near St Albans. I bet you have one nearby, or a butcher who would be happy to find tongue for you. I get oxtail there, too. I love oxtail!

  3. Ryan says:

    Astonishingly good pictures, they’ve made me determined to go and pick some tongue up after work today. Thank you!

  4. Marinkina says:

    Нет,по настоящиму улыбнул 8 пункт,просто представил такую ситуацию ))).

  5. Wonderful recipe. I’m going to try it. Wonder if I can use more red wine as I like the flavour.

  6. meat recipes says:

    It’s a great day today and i feel like testing some new recipes. Thanks for your ideas and wonderful posts in your blog, you’ve done an excelent job!

  7. vini says:

    hey girl, I’m in Brazil and i’m making this tongue tomorrow. I’ll let u know hw it’ll come out. thank you!

  8. Pingback: I Give Some Lip to a Piece of Tongue, Some Peace of Mind is Retained « Eat Me. Drink Me.

  9. Brian says:

    Will try tomorrow and report back

  10. Brian Damms says:

    When Googling for a tongue recipe a few months ago I came across yours. Its wonderful and produced a meal with memories of my childhood ( My mum often cooked tongue, because it was much cheaper but very nutritious) The problem I have is getting to St Georges Market early enough before the butcher sells out of tongue. I managed to buy one yesterday ( only £3 for for one about a Kilo) so am doing it agaon this weekend. Thanks for some wonderful recipes and ideas.

  11. Jeremy says:

    I found your blog after searching for tongue recipes (also found Nose to Tail at home) and plan to start cooking it tomorrow for eating the day after. I might add a pigs trotter to the process as I just love the additional stickiness it gives. I love tongue, its one of those forgotten little secrets, a bit like pig or ox cheeks, sweetbreads and faggots. Not for the faint-hearted but beautiful tasting and a textural paradise. I’ll let you know how it goes. Love the blog – keep writing. Check out mine if you like http://www.scalandsfarm.blogspot.com J.

  12. Pingback: I Give Some Lip to a Piece of Tongue, Some Peace of Mind is Retained – Eat Me. Drink Me.

  13. It’s amazing in support of me to have a web page, which is beneficial in support
    of my know-how. thanks admin

Leave a Reply

