Home , Heart , Homegrown and Homemade

Bakewell Tart

Last week I was tagged by Wendy at A Wee Bit of Cooking on the subject of home with a meme for  Refugee Week 2009.  The campaign aims to raise awareness of refugees’ contributions to society through a wide range of cultural and educational programmes nationwide. Inspired by the the Simple Acts campaign encouraging people to do one little thing to understand the experience of being an exile a little better Wendy has provided a  meme  ,  “What Does Home Mean to You?” with the challenge post three photos which represent “home” to you and write a little about each one , check out her post here

Beach Shadows by you.

Home is where the heart is

They say home is where the heart is and thats even more true recently for me.  Nick and I have been together for a couple of years,  commuting back and forth weekends between eachothers respective homes in the South West and Derbyshire.  One Sunday a few months ago as the usual sadness at leaving settled in , packing my clothes up.  I finally said enough and committed to making his home mine.

Nasturtiums

Homegrown

One of the most positive things about leaving my small studio flat in the centre of Bristol is  having a garden. Which for me is an increasingly big part of home . I had brought seeds from my previous gardens , now scattered around the edible poppies & nasturtiums are coming into flower , we have also dug a vege-patch so increasingly we will be eating home-grown


Homemade

Well this is a foodblog after all for my mum and step-dads were visit this weekend .  I wanted to make something of a tribute to my new home in Derbyshire , Bakewell Tart. This dish was supposedly created by accident when an inexperienced cook was making a jam tart and forgot to put the almond egg mix into the pastry  Not sure I believe the story but it’s a delicious tart reminiscent of a frangipane or even tart au citron.

Bakewell Tart.

Pastry

125g plain flour
75g unsalted butter , cold and diced
25g caster sugar
1 egg yolk and white seperated

Filling

3 heaped tbsp cherry jam
150g unsalted butter , at room temperature
150g caster sugar
3 eggs , beaten
150g ground almonds
lemon , zested

  1. To make the pastry tip the flour, butter and sugar into a food processor .  Whiz until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs.
  2. Add the egg yolk and 1 tsp of cold water,  pulse until the dough comes together.
  3. Cover and chill for 30mins.
  4.  Roll out the pastry to 3mm thickness.
  5. Line a 20cm fluted tart tin with a depth of 31/2 cm. Prick the base with a fork. Heat the oven to 180degC.
  6. Line the pastry case with baking parchment . Cook for about 20 minutes til the pastry is a pale golden colour.
  7. Spread the jam in an even layer over the base of the pastry case.
  8. Cream together the butter and caster sugar, add the beaten eggs and egg yolk. Fold in the ground almonds and lemon zest.
  9. Spoon the mixture over the jam and spread level. Bake for 20 minutes. Scatter with the flaked almonds and continue to cook for a further 15-20 minutes until golden and set.
  10. Cool to room temperature, dust with icing sugar and serve with pouring cream or custard.

I am tagging

All of these blog for me a have a real sense of food and home if you want to have a go  The rules are quite simple:

  • Think about what home means to you.
  • Titled “What Does Home Mean to You?”, post three photos which represent “home” to you and write a little about each one. 
  • Include a link to the Refugee Week website: http://www.refugeeweek.org.uk
  • Tag five others to do the same ( sorry I have managed three)

Two Peach & Cardamon TartRhubarb Tart with Elderflower CreamTreacle  Tart

This entry was posted in June, Summer. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Home , Heart , Homegrown and Homemade

  1. Lorna says:

    Thanks for taking part, this is lovely :) Good grief, that tart looks tasty! At least there’s no calories in looking at it.

    Could you add your photos to the Flickr pool if you get a chance? http://www.flickr.com/groups/refugeeweekhome/

    Happy Refugee Week!
    Check the website for events in your area http://www.refugeeweek.org.uk/InYourArea/England/East+Midlands/

  2. Wendy says:

    Lovely response. I’m with you on the veggie patch thing. Home is where the food is grown. :)

  3. I’m bookmarking this I can have a go at making a bakewell tart — it’s one I’ve always meant to have a go at.
    I find the subject/concept of home very interesting. It’s something one of my professors at university made me think about a lot. And now as an expat myself, and parent to a child born not in my “home” country with friends from many other countries in my life my sense of home is multilayered and evolving. I’m not a refugee thankfully so I can move between my “home” in the US and going “home” to visit England but there’s this Home and Away thing my professor talked about that I understand more clearly now; each place is simultaneously home and away which can be really disconcerting. So much to think about! I’ll have to take a look at the links you posted.

  4. Pingback: Lamb Biryani | Girl Interrupted Eating

  5. diet program says:

    What’s Taking place i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve found It positively useful and
    it has helped me out loads. I’m hoping to give a contribution & help different users like its
    aided me. Great job.

Leave a Reply

