GW Dundas Butchers My Local Food Hero

GW Dundas Butchers by you.
G w Dundas
25 Main Street, Breaston, Derby
01332 872 133
I pretty much swore when I moved in with LBF that I would reduce his carnivore instincts. However,  I had not reckoned on the power of GW Dundas and his delicious meats. Gary Dundas has two branches a few miles apart in Breaston and Draycot , our closest is to the Breaston branch it’s walking distance.

We were having a quiet Saturday , so I wanted to stop by and say thank you for the lovely liver from Friday and I remembered my camera. A tiny shop,you can get two people inside and unlike many butchers the produce is not piled high although there is plenty of dry-cured bacon and sausages. Dundas does have everything you can imagine out the back requests are often accompanied by hacking and sawing , joints are beautifully tied and nothing is packed in plastic. For people of my mums generation this is the norm but I am of the supermarket generation and still look with awe at butchers, especially in an area dominated by massive Tesco and Asda.

Dundas stands independent and proud. I am nominating Dundas butchers for a The Good Food Market Kitchen Local Food Hero 2009. In their fourth year these reward local  farm shops to food producers, online businesses, restaurants nominations and voting  close on the 7th of August 2009.

So as I tuck into todays offering a lovely beef joint we have rare roasted, I offer up a few of Dundas wares

Rare Roast Beef by you.

One day I  casually ask Nick to get some pork ribs an we get something I would make Fred Flintstone envious, we BBQd these pork ribs.

Pork Ribs by you.

As for Kidneys and these beautiful little jewels were so firm I didn’t want to cook with them but wear them a la Florence and the Machine Lungs album cover

P1010391

Shoulder of Lamb beautifully rolled and tied roasted with rosemary, garlic and fennel seeds.

Garlic and Rosemary Roasted Lamb Shoulder by you.

Beef Brisket sweet and tender after its slow cooking with vegetables but still holding it’s shape.

Pot Roased Beef Brisket with vegetables by you.

This entry was posted in July, Lamb, Pork, Summer. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to GW Dundas Butchers My Local Food Hero

  1. Helen says:

    Good God look at those meaty delights! I am jealous!!

  2. Pingback: July Salads « Girl Interrupted Eating

  3. Pingback: Sausages and Home-Made Baked Beans | Girl Interrupted Eating

  4. Pingback: Sausages and Home-Made Baked Beans : Social Menu

  5. Pingback: Christmas Musical « Village Singers

Leave a Reply

