Salt Cod , Chorizo, Roasted Pepper and Chick Pea Stew

Salt Fish , Chorizo , Onions and Red Pepper by you.

A few weeks back I bought a packet of salt fish,  I wasn’t really sure what to do with it , a little googling revealed it goes well with chorizo so after a good soak and rinse, I combined it with some cooking chorizo and plenty of onions and roasted peppers. Delicious with bread or sticky rice.

Salt Fish , Chorizo and Roasted Pepper and Onion

100g of cooking chorizo cut into 1cm rings
200g of salted fish soaked for 4  hours cut into 2 cm
2 large onions finely sliced
3 cloves of garlic grated
1 tbsp of paprika
300g of chopped tomatoes
2 roasted peppers
1 tbsp of olive oil
2 tbsp of sherry vinegar
Salt and pepper

  1. Fry the onion , chorizo,  garlic in the olive oil until softened
  2. Add the salt fish , peppers and paprika fry intil well coated.
  3. Add the tomatoes , vinegar , place in an overproof dish bake at 200degC for 20 minutes
This entry was posted in August, Summer. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Salt Cod , Chorizo, Roasted Pepper and Chick Pea Stew

  1. Kerri says:

    I love the combination of fish, peppers, onions and chorizo. I’ve never cooked with salt fish though, would like to try.

  2. Helen says:

    I keep meaning to cook with salt fish. I love it. I live in Peckham too so there’s no excuses!

  3. Restless Native says:

    Ha,yesterday I was on the Pecham Blog, now I find this interesting place.
    I am about to do something very similar to this recipe. Great inspiration, thanks. Salt fishis so good, I was pleased to find some in Tesco (not my favouroite shop). Friday is a long overdue trip to Waitrose. Great that I have a good Butchers and Fishmongers and a Market near by.

  4. Jeff Apfel says:

    hey no chick peas in recipe!

    i assume add a can, or a tin to you brits maybe, before putting in oven?

  5. Becky says:

    yep add a can/tin. tks for spotting

  6. Pingback: Salt Fish , Chorizo , Onions and Red Pepper | Recipes Images

Leave a Reply

