Grey Mullet with Tomatoes and Celery

Roasted Grey Mullet with tomatoes and celery by you.
I went to the market intending to get some lamb shanks or another slow cook meat, for an autumnal meal but by the time I got to the market the weather had turned sunny and bright and I was in the mood for something light.

I headed over to the lovely fishmonger, he gets busy on a saturday morning often with lovely Chinese ladies buying bags and bags of fish heads, I really need to ask them what they do with them but I am too scared
Grey Mullet by you.
Although I haven’t got to the economy level of fish heads just yet,  I was thinking affordable and sustainable. Alongside Mackerel , the cheapest fish on the stall is Grey Mullet, a flathead fish not related the “oh so showy” blushing red mullet.

This fish hangs around coastal waters so it can sometimes taste a little muddy.

Roasted Grey Mullet by you.
I chose a large fish  but once I had home gutted it ( you can see I am no expert) , cleaned it and removed the head and tail just to fit it into the oven dish .

Once the fish was wrapped in foil with thyme , bay leaves and a slosh of white wine, plenty of salt and pepper at 180degC . The fish  cooked whole in 25 minutes, though the last ten minutes I opened up the foil and added , chopped celery , tomatoes ( from the garden) and a slosh of red wine vinegar.

The result was a lovely summer dish,  light and fresh , the fish was moist and melting, the fish has large bones so it is really easy to eat the spine just lifts out.

This entry was posted in Autumn, Lamb, September. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grey Mullet with Tomatoes and Celery

  1. Pingback: Roasted Grey Mullet with tomatoes and celery | Recipes Images

Leave a Reply

