Braised Oxtail in Star Anise and Soy

P1060212 by you.
Years ago living in Canada I would often go for DimSum when I had a hangover. While I love dumplings my favorites were often slightly unidentifiable sticky pieces of bone in spicy sauces.  Somehow I have a cold again so I wanted something that would cut through my tastebuds

P1060159 by you.

The market always has piles of oxtails which I thought would be perfect , a quick trip to the Chinese supermarket to stock up on ingredients I managed to lose an hour in there so many lovely things.

P1060188 by you.

You need to make some fluffy  rice and to go with the delicious sticky sticky juice, my perfect tip for cooking rice. Just cover the rice with cold water and bring to the boil , then leave for 10 minutes

I think this dish is best eaten with your fingers plenty of chewing and slurping ,perfect as those autumn days.

Braised Oxtail

Serves 2
4 oxtails
5tbps of thick soy sauce
3 tbsp of rice wine
4 tbsp of rice wine vinegar
1 pint of beef stock
1 tsp of fermented soy beans
2 star anise
2 red birds eye chilli
2 cloves of garlic finely sliced
Juice and Zest of a satsuma
1 thumb of ginger cut into matchsticks
1 tbsp of ground nut oil

  1. Heat the oil in a pan and sear the oxtail on all sides
  2. Add the garlic ,ginger, chilli, star anise heat in the oil for a minute or two
  3. Add the liquids and satsuma juice and zest and cover
  4. Place in the oven at 150degC for two hours
  5. Serve with rice
This entry was posted in Autumn. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Braised Oxtail in Star Anise and Soy

  1. Su-Lin says:

    I just had my first experience cooking oxtail yesterday and was on the lookout for more recipes. Yours looks ooey gooey good!

Leave a Reply

