Pumpkin , Sausage and Sage Casserole

Sausage , Pumpkin and Bean Casserole

My halloween always involves carving a pumpkin. Cutting a lid &  scooping out some of the flesh and seeds , and carving a rough approximation of a scary face   and setting it in the window lit by a single tealight.

However being a food-obsessive my favorite thing about carving the pumpkin is  finding new things to do with the leftover pumpkin in fact one of my first ever blog posts is about the Death of a Pumpkin which features Pumpkin Risotto, Roast and a Laksa.

Toasted Pumpkin Seed

On Halloween I made some Roasted Pumpkin Seeds . This is very simple just ensure you remove any strands of pumpkin from the seeds, spread them out on baking sheet sprinkle with just a little sea salt and smoked paprika . After just 15 minutes in  hot oven ( 190degC) they are delicious.

Pumpkin Smile

The next days the pumpkin lid was a little scorched so I discarded it but the rest of the pumpkin  was perfect for trying a  Saturday Kitchen there was a nice recipe for Sausage, Pumpkin and Sage Casserole . This is think would work with any squash , most of the ingredients we keep in the storecupboard and my sage plant is still clinging to life.

The only change I made to the recipe  adding  a dash of sherry which works well with pumpkin. I am cooking a lot with sherry sweeter than wine is seems to give a instant slow cooking taste to quicker dishes

After cooking the pumpkin and beans produce a thick stew they will definitely be a regular ,  think it would work well with chicken thighs too.

This entry was posted in Autumn, November, Winter. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pumpkin , Sausage and Sage Casserole

  1. Niche Topics says:

    Hey Becky, that’s really a great looking dish…I’m so into pumpkin these days :) Thanks for the recipe!

  2. rachel says:

    I don’t always comment but I like just about everything – NO – i mean everything you make. Great recipe.

  3. Margaret says:

    I love the idea of roasted pumpkin seeds, I shall have to make those to nibble on!

  4. Becky says:

    Thanks for the lovely comments all credits for the recipe to Saturday Kitchen though just delicious

  5. Hi, I’ve just created a new website for UK food lovers, where you can share food recipes, food articles and food video’s. I am looking for members to submit some content before the site goes live. I would be grateful if you could have a look and maybe help me out by submitting some articles or recipes.

    Thank you
    Luke Williams
    (Faithful Foodie)

  6. Thank you for the good writeup. It in trhth was a leisure account it.
    Look complicated to far delivered aggreeable from you!
    By the way, how could we communicate?

Leave a Reply

