Lime Pickle

Lime Picke

After the success of a Brinjal pickle over the summer I wondered if I could repeat the success with another Indian pickle favourite Lime Pickle. I am guilty of sneaking a teaspoon or two from the fridge, and it’s lovely in cheese sandwiches. However the shop versions have a lot of oil which is sometimes a bit off putting so I wanted to make something a little lighter , I wondered around the internet looking for recipes .

When I made this up from a few recipes I was a little worried , it looked very liquid but left over time , like preserved lemons the texture thickened and the limes softened.Producing a spicy salty pickle lovely with some hot poppadoms .

Lime Pickle and Poppadoms

Spicy Lime Pickle

6 fresh lime
1 tbsp cumin seeds
1 tbsp of coriander seeds
1 tbsp mustard seeds
1 tbsp fenugreek seeds
2 dried chillis roughly chopped
1 tbsp ground tumeric
6 tsp of salt
6 tsp of sunflower oil

  1. Take 12 limes. Wash and pat them dry cut two slots half way down.
  2. Roast together cumin , coriander, mustard , fenugreek , chilli seeds & turmeric by warming them for a few minutes in a hot pan.
  3. Mix the roasted spices with the oil and salt.
  4. Fill the slots in the limes. Push the limes into a preserving jar.
  5. Leave the limes for at least a month to mature.
  6. You can then finely chop to form a pickle.
This entry was posted in December, Winter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lime Pickle

  1. sarah says:

    Ingenious! I had no idea that lime pickle was so easy to make. In fact, I have never pickled anything. I might have to try this at some point.

  2. Helen says:

    Beautiful! I’ve always wanted to try making lime pickle. I need to get my act together and pickle more things considering I can’t get enough. I think a binge is in order.

  3. janthinajourneys says:

    Amused to meet another who eats lime pickle neat, from the jar. I spread a bit on oatcakes as a canape when I am cooking supper.

  4. Pingback: อาหารอินเดีย – ผักและผลไม้ดองของอินเดีย (Indian pickle) | เรียนอินเดีย ปูเณ่

  5. CN says:

    6 limes or 12 limes please?

Leave a Reply

