Free Ranging Raw Asparagus Salad

First posted May 26th , I have just re-posted this since I found some more free ranging asparagus this morning went to look for this post and realised I had somehow deleted it from the blog.

This morning I was walking down the canal to the post office to collect another undeliverable letter ( deep breaths , deep breaths) .  I kept my eyes firmly on the hedgerows as ever but still thought I imagined it when I saw an asparagus stalk in the hedge. But there is was and another and another all about two foot high. I I broken one off close to the base and tasted the stalk definitely asparagus and so sweet and juicy. I pick 6 stalks cutting them with my house keys and headed to the post office with them dangling out the top of my bag.


I have never found asparagus growing wild before so I am not sure if this is an escaped cultivated variety it didn’t really look like an of the wild varieties  I could find online, if anyone has any idea please comment

Back home I was already munching on the tender stalks so I  dispense with cooking and went for a raw asparagus salad with some of the homemade cheese and some toasted breadcrumbs NB I keep bags of breadcrumbs in the freezer, pouring out enough in a pan to toast as required, this adds a lovely crunch so salads and risottos.

Raw Wild Asparagus and Homemade Cheese Salad

6 stalks of wild asparagus , stalks cut in half
30g of crumbled fresh cheese ( recipe here)  or a crumbly goats cheese or feta
Handful of breadcrumbs
1 tsp of rape seed oil

Dressing
4 tbsp of rape seed oil
juice of half a lemon
Pinch of salt
Couple of grinds of pepper

  1. Mix together the dressing ingredients
  2. In a frying pan warm the breadcrumbs in rape seed oil til they are golden brown
  3. Mix the asparagus with the cheese and dress
  4. Scatter over the breadcrumbs
This entry was posted in May, Spring, Wild Food. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Free Ranging Raw Asparagus Salad

  1. andresrcastello says:

    Looks delicious… i think its awesome that you’re able to find all these wild-growing veggies and herbs and are brave enough to pick them.

    I wish i didn’t live in a city sometimes haha

    -Andrés

  2. Pingback: Raw Asparagus Mimosa with Sorrel Leaves « Girl Interrupted Eating

  3. Pingback: New Potatoes & Shaved Asparagus Pizza Bianca « Girl Interrupted Eating

Leave a Reply

