Jerk Pulled Pork

This was my first attempt at making a pulled pork, so I was instinctively working out a way of cooking rather than following a recipe. In the end it was incredibly simple; slow cooking followed by roasting leaves moist tender flaking meat combined with chewy spicy coating. The roasting juices reduce to make a perfect dipping sauce.

I think this Jerk Pulled Pork is a perfect party dish served with plenty of wraps, rolls or salads.  You can even freeze the pork, once defrosted it reheats really well just cook at 200degC for 20 minutes or so. I cannot wait to experiment with more seasonings thinking some South American Spices next time.

Jerk Pulled Pork

Pork Shoulder
Jerk Seasoning I mix it with lemon juice and zest.  ( I confess I buy a dry rub that contains Salt, Sugar, Cayenne Pepper, Black Pepper, Pimento, Cinnamon, Oregano, Bay Leaves, Nutmeg ) but there are some good recipes online for blends.

  1. Rub the pork shoulder all over with the jerk seasoning.
  2. Place it in a large lidded cast iron pot and put in the oven at 150degC for 3 hours.
  3. You will find plenty of juices escape keeping the pork moist, alternatively this works perfectly cooked in a slow cooker on low for 30 minutes)
  4. Finally place the pork  in a deep roasting tray with the juices and place in a hot oven 190degC for 25 minutes, until the outside is caramalised and the juices reduced.
  5. Once cooked the pork can be pulled apart with a knife and fork.

For this first time trying pulled pork I served with a chilli sauce and a salad made with grated carrot, finely chopped garlic,  yogurt , mint and parsley sprinkled with a few poppy seeds.

Chilli Beef Brisket Wraps

Share

Enhanced by Zemanta
This entry was posted in August, Autumn, BBQ, Meals, Meat, Pork, September, Summer, Wraps and Rolls. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Jerk Pulled Pork

  1. paul haine says:

    I have a pork belly joint, would that do instead of shoulder?

  2. Helen says:

    I just made jerk pulled pork, but I didn’t get the flavour to penetrate deep enough. I think I’ll make some really deep cuts next time and really shove the marinade in there.

  3. Becky says:

    Paul – too late now I am sure , my first thought is that pork belly might just be too fatty but I might have a go.
    Helen – The long slow cook and second roast seems to work, but I really want to try it on the BBQ – Maybe next summer

  4. Su-Lin says:

    That looks fantastic – I definitely want to have a go making that! (shh… I have some bottled jerk marinade that needs using up)

  5. Pingback: Chipolte Pork Tacos | Girl Interrupted Eating

  6. Pingback: Chipolte Pork Tacos : Food Writers

  7. Pingback: Rhubarb and Chili Pulled Pork ( Pressure Cooker) | Girl Interrupted Eating

  8. Pingback: Rhubarb and Chili Pulled Pork ( Pressure Cooker) | Girl Interrupted Eating

  9. Pingback: Hairstyles That Attract Women

Leave a Reply

