Spaghetti Marrow and Tomato Curry.

It feels like every time I post about my vegebox I am complaining about the latest vegetable descending on me. ( Remember the Turnips) I promise I do love my vegebox  but seriously how can I be upbeat about Marrow .

What kind of sado-masochist would grow marrow is a massive watery lump with thick reptillian skin?  Not one of my 40 cookbooks had a tasty sounding marrow recipe. Even searching online (Marrow Rum sounded fun) most recipes suggested stuffing it with meat or cheese, I have tried this before but you ended up with really nice meat filling surrounded by bland wateriness that makes you wish you had just cooked some pasta.

 I finally found Simon Hopkinsons South East Asian Vegetarian recipes which promised to use the marrow as a texturally soothing vegetable in a Marrow and Tomato Curry  The recipe seemed to have a number of steps but I used  a one pot methods , putting all the ingredients into the pan and into the oven.

I was really pleased with the results, I made the masala paste in the morning to give the spices time to blend. In the evening the smell of the curry cooking perfectly whetted my appetite. The marrow cooking turned out to be a Spaghetti Marrow so rather than stay in chunks in melted into thin ribbons  this really helped the eating of the dish , with sweet tomatoes and silky onions.

Next time I make this I think I will add some chickpeas or paneer for an extra taste but I look forward to using the remainder of the masala paste in some other dishes

I suspect this was just the first of the Marrows, so if anyone as any tried and tested recipes I would love to read them. Still need some Turnip recipes )

Masala Paste

2tbsp cumin seeds
1 tbsp coriander seeds
1 tsp fennel seeds
1 tsp brown mustard seeds
1 tsp whole cloves
1 tsp small, dried red chills
1 small handful curry leaves, slightly less if dried (optional)
150g onions, peeled and chopped
60g garlic cloves, peeled and chopped
75g fresh ginger, peeled and chopped
1 tbsp tamarind paste
1 tsp turmeric
1 tbsp red-wine vinegar
50g creamed coconut
1 tsp Maldon salt
1 tsp caster sugar

  1. Toast the spices cumin, coriander, fennel and mustard seeds, cloves and chillies -in a frying pan until they are smelling quite wonderful and pungent, but be careful not to burn them.
  2. Once the spices are cool, grind them in a mortar and pestle
  3. Place the curry leaves, onions, garlic, ginger, tamarind paste, turmeric, vinegar, coconut, salt and sugar in a food processor.
  4. Add the freshly ground spices and process everything until it is as smooth as possible
  5. Store in a jar covered in a fine layer of oil

Spaghetti Marrow and Tomato Curry.

1 marrow, about 1 kg
2 onions, peeled and thinly sliced
2 garlic cloves, peeled and sliced
2 tbsp vegetable oil
2 tbsp masala paste (see recipe above)
12 curry leaves, fresh or dried (optional)
600g of cherry tomatoes
freshly ground pepper

  1. Turn the oven to 160degC.
  2. Cut the marrow into 2cm chunks.
  3. Fry the onion and garlic with the masala paste and oil until softened.
  4. Add the marrow and stir to coat in the paste.
  5. Finally add the cherry tomatoes.
  6. Cover and place in the oven for 1 1/4 hours remove the lid for the last 20 to allow the dish to reduce and flavours intensify.

Sag PaneerPumpkin and Beef Brisket Chilli

This entry was posted in Autumn, Cheese, Events and Festival, Meals, Season, September. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spaghetti Marrow and Tomato Curry.

  1. Helen says:

    That is without doubt the most appealing marrow recipe I’ve ever seen. I bet it would be lovely with the paneer too.

Leave a Reply

