A little secret

Time to fess up, the last few weeks my interest in food has been suffering. I have spent weeks alternating between porridge,  beans on toast and beans on a Jacket Potatoes.  It’s hasn’t been an economy drive , the result of the cold weather trapping me in the house, or some faddy diet. It just that anything with a stronger taste  has been turning my stomach.

All pretty odd for a girl who has spent her entire adult life with the first and last thought of the day being “What can I eat next?”, and who would rather buy food than clothes except maybe that  Lady Gaga Meat Dress – always thought that looked spot on for some slow braising.

Despite these alarming symptoms I am not panicking because I am assured all this perfect normal for someone in my condition. My condition,  I am happily pregnant and until recently rather unhappily suffering the accompanying Morning Sickness

Now this is my first pregancy and I rapidly discovered that Morning Sickness was the biggest misnomer since “Happy Meal”.  The sickness  actually lasts all day, like travel sickness or a permanent hangover which is doubly unfair because of course I have given up drinking.  No big deal not drinking , who wants to drink anyway when a newly heightened  sense of smell makes all alcohol smell like old mans shoes.

With the start of the second trimester my morning sickness is beginning to pass, and I am getting excited about food again just in time for Christmas, so normal service will resume

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A little secret

  1. Kavey says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!
    x

  2. Phebe says:

    Congratulations! What wonderful news :) X

  3. Su-Lin says:

    How wonderful – congratulations!!!

  4. Nic Dafis says:

    That’s a terrible excuse!

    OK, no it’s not – congratulations!

  5. Jules says:

    Congratulations! Fantastic news.

  6. isak486 says:

    Happiest wishes to you and your little one! Love the blog… and the recipes… and the lovely tie-in’s with your life.

  7. Roger says:

    Congratulations!

  8. Becky says:

    Thanks for all the lovely comments. Still waiting for that pregnancy glow and cravings

  9. CharlieB says:

    Congratulations – lovely for you that your desire for food is coming back before Christmas hits! Have a lovely Christmas.

  10. laura says:

    congrats becka! wonderful news, have a wonderful christmas and new year and keep on with the beans. i could eat them everyday and i’ve got no excuse :) x

  11. Aiko says:

    Congratulations Becky! Have a wonderful Christmas, this time next year with a little one…!!!

  12. Aiko says:

    Many congratulations!

  13. stephanie reardon says:

    You need to call me. NOW!!!
    Congratulations , really wonderful news Doodly! Now call me!!!

  14. Congratulations – you have me panicked now! I’m a fellow food blogger – alarmed at being ‘off’ food for the present time. I’m putting it down to flu though a pregnancy is definitely not planned yet! Hope you’re appetite comes back with vengance

  15. nicoppy says:

    Congratulations Becky

  16. Sophie says:

    How exciting! Glad to see that your appetite is coming back and fingers crossed for smooth sailing through the rest of your pregnancy

  17. Jux says:

    Darling!
    For a long time I’ve not visited your gorgeous kitchen – life was busy offline – shame on me… and today I have the insight to take a look coz I imagined your loving family was growing… Bingo!
    Happy to know the news!
    Welcome new life blessed with love!

    Hugs from Sylt/DE

  18. Pingback: Planning for Post Pregnancy | Girl Interrupted Eating

  19. Pingback: Lamb Biryani | Girl Interrupted Eating

Leave a Reply

