175 Cake

photo

I was getting a bit suspicious about the number of times the construction guys were popping  barely a day popped by without a visit from a painter, electrician or Steve the foreman. My snag list really isn’t that extensive and they always seemed to be in time when I was baking , making it impossible not to offer some cake with that tea.

Today one of them gave the game away, it seems our heat recovery system vent has been pumping cooking smells outside straight into the nostrils of the site workers. I’m basically Tesco pumping bakery smells to entice in
customers, or in my case cake craving construction guys.

Baking has never really been my speciality it feels a little too exact and I am not an exact person . You cannot mess around with quantities or so I thought until this summer when I began playing around with something I now call the 175 cake so called because is has 175g of fat, flour and sweet and bakes at 175degC.

This is an experiment-away cake a basic framework that means you can play around to make a range of flavours sugars, fats and oils confident that it rises beautifully every time creating a moist springy cake that keeps well , as if it has the chance to go off here.

You can ice it with butter icing or water icing  is you wish, I find it keeps better in the cake tin without, once cut I also keep some in the freezer , cube remove in a packed lunch is easily defrosted by lunchtime.

It even saved my life on boxing day when I realised I had not make a dessert some confusion about having Christmas pudding leftovers, chucking in a jar of marinated figs and some stem ginger to the mix and serving it warm with cream created a perfect dessert

So far favourites from  using this

 

  • Parsnip and Cardamom ( 2 grated medium parsnips)
  • Carrot and Walnut Cake( 3 grated medium carrots )
  • Fig and Honey ( 4 dried figs soaked in boiling water for 10 minutes and  roughly chopped)
  • Banana Cake ( 2 bananas mashed)
  • Ginger Cake ( 50g of stem ginger)
  • Orange and Lemon ( juice of one organge and 1/2 a lemon)

photo

175 Cake

175g of self raising flour
175g/175ml of fat (sunflower oil, butter )
175g/175ml of sugar (brown sugar, caster sugar, honey, golden syrup, treacle)
3 eggs
1 tsp of bicarbonate of soda
175g of wet ingredients ( banana , grated carrot or parsnip or 75g of dried ingredients nuts, stem ginger , dried fruit )
or a mix of 100g wet and 75g dry e.g 100g of banana plus 75g of walnuts
1 tsp of spices e.g. cardamon, chilli and vanilla paste

  1. Blend together the fat and sweet.
  2. Mix in the eggs, if using wet ingredients add them in at this point.
  3. Mix the flour with the  bicardbonate of soda, any spices and add into the cake mixture
  4. Finally stir in any dry ingredients
  5. Pour into a square cake tin 30cm by 30cm
  6. Bake at 175degC for 40 minutes until golden and firm to touch
  7. Allow to cool remove from tin and cut into 9 squares

 

P1050117 by you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 175 Cake

  1. Kerri says:

    I remember my mum telling me to always make sure I offered plenty of tea and cake/biscuits to any tradesman. It’s served me well so far.

    This looks delicious and really easy too, even for a non-baker like me. I’ll bear it in mind next time I’m having any work done at home!

  2. Jonathan says:

    Wow. Parsnip sounds interesting! Like the name. And the photos look delicious.

  3. Lindsay says:

    Parsnip and cardamom sounds amazing!

  4. Pingback: Ostrich Egg Super Spring Frittata | Girl Interrupted Eating

  5. Pingback: Sticky Toffee Date Cake | Girl Interrupted Eating

  6. What a great post, love the idea of a cake “framework”.

    I’ve been looking for recipe for a pear and cardamon cake and I think this might just be the one.

    Do you know if it works in a round, springform tin?

    • Becky says:

      Sure it would work just as well in a round tin , I only use square because it square pieces fit into my cake box. Love to hear how it goes.

  7. Pingback: Chocolate and Banana Gruffalo Cake – Emily’s 3rd Birthday | Girl Interrupted Eating

Leave a Reply

