Watercress , Smoked Mackerel and Celeriac Salad

photo

I took a little trip  around Nottingham Market  this weekend, under orders to buy a “happy” chicken for Sunday Lunch.

All of the vegetable stalls had large bunches of British Watercress which for me is a sure sign, alongside the appearance of purple sprouting broccoli ,that Spring is just around the corner and  the age of the root vegetables is coming to a close.

Wild Watercress

I have been lucky enough to pick wild watercress but wary of using it raw in salads due to the prevalence of liver flukes . Especially since I had a slight panic last week that I had poisoned myself  and was going into labour. it was indigestion but I am trying to be a little more sensible with how I eat for the next few months anyway.  To the mounds of watercress I added  chopped toasted bread , a smoked mackerel fillet, some celeriac remoulade (leftover from steak-night  on Friday) and a dressing of olive oil , honey , wholegrain mustard and white vinegar.

In a few months this salad can include some  cooked new potatoes but it was delicious enough to have me running my finger round the bowl to eat every last scrap.

Wild Watercress Soup Black BreamSpinach and Wild Garlic Pesto Soup


This entry was posted in March, Salads, Spring, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Watercress , Smoked Mackerel and Celeriac Salad

  1. hmmm nice mammaa :) thanks brother

  2. Pingback: Watercress | Alison Amazed

Leave a Reply

