Beef and Beetroot Curry

 

We are back to using a vegebox,this time from local Eden Farms, now a vegebox this time of year is pretty root-based the odd leafy cabbage. Beetroot feature heavily but once you have shredded them for salad , made some borscht even stuck them in the brownies you start to wonder, what else can I do with these things.

I was searching around and found a recipe for a beef and beetroot curry sounded a bit odd but we need to do something with them. I could’t find the recipe again but it had stuck in my head so this is a bit of a throw together

I used beef ribs but any slow cook stewing joint cut into cubes would work well , the cooked beetroot is nice and earthy and goes particularly with with a ind of mint-yogurt which I totally cheat when making and mix mint sauce with yogurt.

You could up the chilli contents but for me this was perfect meaning I could taste the beef and the beetroot , it didn’t not go any kind of scary luminous purple either

Beef and Beetroot Curry

Serves 2

200g of stewing beef 2cm cubes
100g of beetroot, scrubbed I dind’t bother peeking it cos the slow
cook should take care of any tough skin , these we quite small cut
into quarters but should be about the same size as the beef.
1 large onion peeled and cut quarters
2 garlic cloves peeled and roughly chopped
1 tbsp of garam masala
1 tsp of turmeric
1 green chilli roughly chopped
1 tsp of mustard seeds.

Mix all the ingredients and place in the slow cooker on LOW for six hours

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Beef and Beetroot Curry

  1. Goose says:

    Looks good and looks simple, I need simple, to much complicated rescently, nice pic.

  2. Looks fabulous, I bought some beetroot at the farmshop today and love a curry so may give this a go at the weekend, thanks!

  3. Amanda says:

    Beetroot is popping up all over the place these days! I love it and there is something curiously satisfying about having bright pink hands once you have finished peeling it! My latest discovery is wild garlic and I recently putting a post on my blog with a recipe for wild garlic pesto, it is really delicious. If you would like the recipe please hop over to visit my at therunningwave!

    http://therunningwave.blogspot.co.uk/2013/04/one-year-ago-exactly.html

  4. Jack Framer says:

    Looks delicious, definitely going to try this one this weekend, thanks for sharing :)

  5. Jonathan says:

    Nice. Sounds delicious. I love the deep autumnal colours.

Leave a Reply

