Tricolor Goats Cheese Salad and Provencal Rolls

Tomato , Asparagus and Goats Cheese

The first Sunday of the month is a magical time its the Slow Food Market in Bristol, although we do have a Farmers Market its on a Wednesday afternoon which is a tricky time to make it into two . But Sunday is doable , the market has a varying selection of meat , vegetable , cheese , cake bread and pie stalls. I have written before about their excellent faggots

Tomato Stall

The start of summer which was only confirmed when I saw the tomato man . For me fresh tomatoes are pretty much off the menu during the winter tasteless and granular.

My eyes perceptively widened then on seeing a whole table of English tomato products , though was tempted by the vine tomatoes the nice man on the stall pointed out if I went for a punnet I would get double for the same money. Clearly he sensed the bargain hunter in me .

Cheese Stall

Cheese was my next hit I was thinking recently if I could only eat one food for the rest of my life it might just be cheese being vegetarian for 10 years during the 90s I became a connoisseur of goats cheese salads and my passion for it has not dimmed despite the reintroduction of meat to my diet. This cheese was dusted with charcoal with quite a bite to is crumbly and sticky at the same time.
Goats Cheese Diprose

To be honest just goats cheese and tomatoes would have been perfect with just a slosh of olive oil and some fresh bread however I had picked up a bunch of English asparagus in London, though I did consider steaming it in my hotel room kettle I am glad a saved it for the tricolor salad

The best thing about salad is often mopping up the dressing with some crusty bread , I couldn’t find any bread for sale at this weeks market so in an astonishing display of domesticity I decided to make my own . Making bread is easy it is about having the time to let it prove and it finally gave me somewhere to make good use of a pot of herbes de provence


Tricolor Goats Cheese Salad

Sliced fresh tomatoes
Asparagus – roasted at 180deg in olive oil & a crushed garlic clove or wild garlic butter
Goats Cheese
Balsamic Vinegar
Freshly ground Black pepper

1. Mixing together tomatoes asparagus & goats cheese
2. Dressed with the ground black pepper and balsamic vinegar

Provencal Rolls

Provencal Rolls

250g strong white flour , plus extra for dusting
1 tsp salt
2g sachet fast-action yeast
3 tbsp olive oil
50ml water
2 tbsp of herbs de provence , thyme, marjoram , rosemary savory , lavendar flowers and hyssop.

1. Mix the flour, salt and yeast in a large bowl, add the oil and water, and mix well.
2. Mix well knead on a lightly floured surface Once the dough is satin-smooth, place it in a lightly oiled bowl. Leave to rise for 1 hour
3. Divide into portions and form into rolls or plaits ,place on a baking tray & return to a warm place for 30 more minutes
4. Dust the tops with the herbs de provence
5. Heat oven to 220C/fan 200C/gas 7.
6. Bake for 25-30 mins & cool on a wire rack.

Herbs de Provence


This entry was posted in June, Summer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tricolor Goats Cheese Salad and Provencal Rolls

  1. Pingback: Asparagus Roasted in Parma Ham « Girl Interrupted Eating

  2. Food Freak says:

    Hey – your recipes look great. I can’t wait to try them out. By the way, your pork loin on the home page looks like a hippo!

  3. Pingback: Chard , Red Pepper and Fresh Cheese Baked Rolls « Girl Interrupted Eating

Leave a Reply

