Spiced Breakfast Cake

Dutch Spiced Cake

So I have committed myself to at least three months working in London and the slightly strange part is I am going to commute from Bristol. This is going to require a great deal of forward planning and in my own true style the first thing I thought was food , breakfasts for the train ,lunches and quick dinners when I get home . The second thing I though was how far is Borough Market from the office

First then breakfast now its usually bran flakes but I cannot eat before 6am and thats when my train leaves Bristol Temple Meads . I could buy something at the station , while 1.50 a day for a cup of tea doesn’t sound too bad if you do the maths , 5 days a week for a month that 30 quid on tea . Now there is a lot more I could do with that money, not to mention the waste of all those disposable cups

I have a small 500ml flask and the tea tastes much nicer out of it than plastic cups , I can take a banana but I think with the early starts I might need something else as well

Yet again the lovely boyfriend has come to the rescue, for our camping trip recently he made Kruidkoek (Dutch spice cake) from a recipe over at Make Life Sweeter . This is a delicous moist cake made without eggs but with yoghurt , its pretty tasty as it but I suspect could be dressed up with the addition of bananas , nuts or sultanas.

I did a test run this weekend the recipe here calls for dark muscovado I used light because that was all I had in stock. Actually a standard 500ml yogurt pot will make two cakes so its easy to make two at once and the cake keeps really well even in a plastic bag growing more sticky and delicious with time .

So that is breakfast sorted more shortly on lunches and quick dinners as the weeks progress .Spookily elsewhere Mostly Eating is beggining an Oxford – London commute and wrestling with the same consuming issues so I will definitely be checking in with her blog .

Spiced Breakfast Cake

Kruidkoek (Dutch spice cake)

makes 1 loaf
250 g self raising flour
200 g dark moscovado sugar
2 tbsp mixed spice
250 ml yoghurt
50 ml honey

  1. Preheat the oven to 175°C line a tin with baking paper
  2. Mix the flour, sugar and mixed spice.
  3. Add the yoghurt & honey mixture to the flour stir until combined. Transfer to the loaf cake tin and bake for 1 ¼ hours
  4. Allow to cool for 10 minutes. Take the cake out of the tin and put it in a plastic bag, close the bag and allow it to cool completely.
  5. Best served the next day.
This entry was posted in June, Summer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Spiced Breakfast Cake

  1. linda says:

    Nice to see somebody making a recipe from my blog 🙂 It looks very good!
    Good luck commuting!

  2. Pingback: Butternut Squash , Buckwheat , Watercress , Walnut and Goats Cheese Salad « Girl Interrupted Eating

  3. Sophie says:

    Hi Becky,

    i’m just posting a comment from the train – I thought i’d treat myself and drag my laptop along for the commute today!

    i always think about taking a thermos along but there’s only so much you can carry in the end, isn’t there? I do however have a small plastic child’s thermos snack jar which is really light and means that I can have porridge occasionally.

    Will check out the cake recipe in more detail in case it might work for my commuting breakfast next week.

  4. Pingback: Forced Rhubarb and Yogurt Cake « Girl Interrupted Eating

  5. Pingback: Lamb Biryani | Girl Interrupted Eating

Leave a Reply

