Roasted Chicken with Chanterelles

Chicken with pototoes and chanterelles

We worked really hard all last weekend while its rained .The promise of dry weather this weekend meant we had to go out for a nice walk in the Forest of Dean , ancient woodland criss- crossed with waterstreams and large oak trees.

Chanterelles
Lurking next to one stream were a cluster of egg yolk yellow chanterelles its the first time I have found these little babies, they love to be near streams and a few were nibbled beyond repair. So keen was I to pick them I even forgot to take any photos in situ. I had some chicken thighs out of the freezer so from wood to plate in a few hours quite delicious

Chicken with pototoes and chanterelles

A simple one pot recipe with earthy zesty tastes for perfect autumn dish

Roasted Chicken with Chanterelles

6 Chicken thighs ( I remove the skin otherwise it is a little greasy )
3 handfuls of cooked new potatoes , cut in half
3 handfuls of chanterelles
2 cloves of garlic peeled & roughly chopped
1 handful of flat parsley , finely chopped
1 cup of water
1 tbsp of wholegrain mustard
1 lemon – cut into quarters

  1. Mix the chanterelles , potatoes ,lemon , mustard and parsley
  2. Place in a oven proof dish , layer over the chicken thighs
  3. Roasted in the oven at 220degC for 35 minutes without a lid
  4. Half way through cooking mix the ingredients together again, cover the dish for the remaining cooking time.

P.S If you live in the US Marx foods are currently running a contest with prize of a chanterelles for the best chanterelle recipe so so there are plenty of other ideas Marx Foods Blog

4 Comments

  1. i love the journal accompanying the recipe. and of course the dish looks absolutely delicious…………i’ll just have to live vicariously through you Beck 😉

  2. This sounded great and I tried this recipe tonight. I made two mistakes however. I didn’t have any nice mustard so I used a tablespoon of dijon mustard. I also squeezed the lemons into the water before adding the quarters to the pot. I think that these two things combined to make the resulting broth very sour and bitter. Yuck. The chicken, mushrooms and potatoes tasted OK, but I was bummed to not have a nice sauce to go with them. Just wanted to warn others!

Leave a comment