Beefsteak Mushroom with Lentils

Beefsteak Mushroom and Lentils

After a huge long lie in this morning , plenty of walking in the woods this afternoon. The fungi are beginning to appear on mass lots of hedgehog fungus

Beefsteak Fungus ( Fistulina hepatica)

Amazingly I also found the Beefsteak fungus above , this is usually coming to the end of its season in October but this specimen was still fresh not dried at all . Though had managed to forget my mushroom knife luckily this could be easily cut with my work id card . You need to leave the stalk in place it will come back next season .

Beefsteak Fungus Slices

Beefsteak fungus needs good cooking and its taste is hard to describe , slightly acidic but very rich. Though previously people have written that it tastes just like beef I am not sure what beef they had been eating , I was vegeterian for 10 years at one point and this would not have fooled me . It does look like flesh when you cut it and I have found examples before that look just like oozing meat.

Beefsteak Fungus   - Fungi

Some recipes advise soaking the mushroom in water first I used a marinade which is then used in the cooking process ( no waste eh ?) . The squishiness of the mushrooms ( a technical term ) is complimented by the nutty lentils and wholly vegan.

Beefsteak Mushroom and Lentils

100g of beefsteak mushroom
200g of green lentils
200ml of red wine ( 1 large glass )
1 pint of water
1 tbsp of wholegrain mustard
2 cloves of garlic finely chopped
Small bunch of thyme
Salt and peper

  1. Thickly slice the beefsteak mushroom
  2. Cover with the red wine , add the garlic and several sprigs of thyme
  3. Leave to marinade for 30 minutes
  4. After marinading in a lidded saucepan , bring the water to the boil and add the lentils, simmer for 10 minutes
  5. Pour into the lentils , the mushrooms and the marinade
  6. Allow to simmer for a further 15 minutes
  7. Add a little more water if it begins to look dry
  8. Serve with a sprinkling of fresh thyme.
This entry was posted in Autumn, October, Wild Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Beefsteak Mushroom with Lentils

  1. This looks delicious. I’m not sure I would trust myself to forage for my own mushrooms, though.

  2. Maria says:

    I found one like this today.

  3. morrie2 says:

    I have never really considered this mushroom as being an edible. I dismissed it as being too tough. But you have really spurred my interest with this recipe. I will give it a try next time I find one.

    Hedgehogs are common here too.

  4. Does all this happen in one pan, or do you marinate the mushrooms in wine in one pan, and boil water and cook lentils in another, and then add the marinating mushrooms to the lentils? And the mustard is added to the cooking lentils?

Leave a Reply

