Steak with Celeriac Remoulade

Things have been very manic lately I have been  working long hours , commuting and with more than  the odd work Christmas I have been  left  with little time to do any real food shopping which has meant raiding the freezer for old stews and ultimate prize a lurking steak  .

I am a big believer that your body begins to crave something it needs with that in mind I think my body is craving , red meat vinegar and salt. I was clearing out the freezer and found a large rump steak which I ate with suitably strong  accompaniments.

Celeriac Remoulade

Beef Steak with Celeriac Remoulade and Cornichons

Celeriac remoulade is one of my favourite salads, plenty of celeriac around in season  and while I a happy eating it straight from the bowl , it makes a crunchy zingy accompaniment to steak

300g celeriac bulb
10ml of olive oil
2 egg yolks
2 tbsp of dijon mustard
1 tsp of salt
1 tsp of pepper
4 tbsp of white wine vinegar

  1. Finely grate the celeriac ( easy if you have a food processor)
  2. Whisk together the egg yolks with the olive oil and salt til glossy
  3. Mix in the mustard , white wine vinegar and pepper and the mixture over the grated celeriac
  4. Mix well and leave to cure for at least an hour


This entry was posted in December, Uncategorized, Winter. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

