Pasta with Roasted Summer Vegetables

Pasta with roastes summer vegetables

Our vegebox has switched to summer after so many months of winter vegetables I gasped with joy at  courgettes,  sweet peppers and baby tomatoes. They had come over the Riverford farms in Spain  I thought these babies deserved me putting a little effort in and making pasta to reward their journey

Pasta Machine

I want to say this is the first time I have tried to make pasta but that would be a lie In fact I bought a pasta maker a year and a half ago , the one time I  tried to make pasta everything went a bit wrong so being defeatist I put it away and never tried again.

Drying Pasta

This time I was determined to get it right so I  used a scaled down Jamie Oliver pasta recipe . It actually worked really well , we left it to dry for at least an hour and cooked for a few minutes perfect al dente

Pasta

While the pasta was drying I chopped and roasted the vegetables with plenty of fresh herbs from the garden and olive oil . Simple and easy .

Roasted Summer Vegetables

Once the pasta was cooked and drain it was added to the pan with the vegetables. A taste of summer sadly missed and hopefully we will have our own homegrown courgettes and tomatoes soon.


Roasted Summer Vegetables

2 large courgettes diced
1 medium pepper diced
1 medium onion diced
2 handfuls of cherry plum tomatoes
3 cloves of garlic crushed
Zest and juice of half and lemon
Mixed handful of oregano , thyme and parsley
3 tbsp of olive oil
Salt and Pepper

  1. Mix all the vegetables in a roasting dish with the oil , herbs , lemon and seasoning
  2. Place in a 200degC oven for 20 minutes
  3. Shaking regularly

Courgette FrittataChilled Courgette Soup with Radish and Mint PestoWild Mushroom and Courgette Tart

This entry was posted in May, Summer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pasta with Roasted Summer Vegetables

  1. betty says:

    another of your delicious recipes i must try!!!!!!

  2. I am a huge fan of roasted veggies and fresh pasta. Together they make a winning combination. Your recipe looks fantastic! Thanks for sharing and for including such nice pictures as well. I am definitely going to give this a try soon. Thanks for including the link to Jamie Oliver’s pasta recipe. Think it’s time I broke in my new pasta maker.

  3. Laura says:

    Awesome recipe, I’m planning on making it for dinner tonight 🙂 how many people does this serve?

    • Becky says:

      Laura , number of servings. Basically three big handfuls of fresh vegetables, cooks down to enough for one person. This amount would serve 4 with 100g dried pasta / 150g fresh pasta per person.

Leave a Reply

