Chard and Cheese Tart

Chard and Cheese Tart by you.
I am home alone this weekend which means eating , sleeping and after a couple of glasses of wine manic cleaning which leads to clearing out the fridge.  I find tarts or quiches are a great way to use up food from the fridge you just need some eggs and a little pastry which can be made in seconds.

The first use-up ingredient was a bag of chard. I have a terrible history with chard, once a month a huge bag arrives in the vegebox.  Despite its beauty, I always picture myself eating it as a  cow chewing through cud. So here is my  terrible vegebox confession – one in three packets turns to slime .

Also in the fridge a block of very smelly cheese , a Munster from Natoora parcel some months ago . I do not belive in sell-by or use by dates , I think they improve with age.

Reading Nigel Slaters recipes in this weekends Observer he includes hemp seeds in a recipe and I remembered we had a packet for making flapjacks , I figured they would make a delicious addition to pastry and they definitely added a nutty crunch.

Chard and Cheese Tart by you.
The result was a light tart/quiche the strong cheese heated through deliciously with the chard without any bitter green taste , the pastry falling apart.

Chard and Cheese Tart

5 handfuls of chard ( I used rainbow) finely chopped
3 eggs
75g of flavoursome cheese ( mature cheddar, stilton)  roughly chopped
100ml of milk
Salt and Pepper

Wholemeal Pastry

100g of wholemeal flour
2 tbp of hemp seeds
50g of butter
20ml of water
Pinch of salt

  1. Line an 8inch diamter tart case with greaseproof paper
  2. Make the pastry , crumb together the wholemeal flour , hemp seeds salt , and butter
  3. Add the water to form a dough
  4. Roll out to a few millimeters thick and line the tart case

Filling

  1. Beat together the eggs and milk
  2. Add the finely chopped chard and cheese
  3. Season with salt and pepper
  4. Pour into the tart case
  5. Bake at 180degC for 25 minutes until the filling is set
This entry was posted in Autumn, September. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chard and Cheese Tart

  1. Kerri says:

    The colour is fantastic, I really like the sound of this.

  2. Becky says:

    I think it would work with spinach too. It was delicious and got polished off in no time

  3. sarah says:

    This looks lovely. I am always looking for ways to use chard since I get it in my veg box every week. I love the taste of it but they always give me so much! Sometimes I chop it finely and stir it into curries in the last five minutes of cooking. I am also planning a chard risotto later this weekend. Thanks for the inspiration.

    Oh, and the wholemeal pastry with hemp seeds sounds great, too. I never make anything with only white flour now. I love the nutty taste of whole wheat and the health benefits are important too.

  4. Su-Lin says:

    The colour on that tart is amazing!

Leave a Reply

