Loving the Larb

36541155213_4e326bb1ee_zA finally got out for the first time in so long this week.

As I was planning my escape a final guilt trip from my 6 year old. I said it would be fun to have a babysitter.”But you left us with a babysitter before…remember Adam. babysat.

She is right he did nearly a year ago while I went to the PTA Xmas Fair planning committee. That’s how often I get out.

But  this week I actually made it to a play and even a meal in a restaurant.  I ate Thai,  one of my all time favourite cuisines. I chose larb which is a dish I think it in line to be one of my last meals – minced spiced chicken – it’s heaven.

In fact it was so good I made it for the dinner the next night too

Chicken Larb

Enough for two greedy people

  • 4 chicken thighs/breast – grilled
  • 2 red chill peppers
  • 2 spring onions
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 4 tbsp of uncooked white rice – toasted in a pan and ground
  • juice of one lime
  • 5 tbsp of fish sauce
  • 5 tbsp of coriander leaf
  • 1 tbsp of fresh mint
  • half a small red onion
  • 1/2 thumb of fresh ginger

Iceberg lettuce leaves to serve

  1. Place the rice in hot dry sauce pan on a low heat for 5 minutes , keep tossing the rice and remove before it begins to brown.
  2. Grin in a mortar and pestle until it had a very fine texyt
  3. Finely chop the chicken thighs
  4. Process together all the other ingredients
  5. Mix with the chicken and half the rice
  6. To serve sprinkle the remaining ground rice over the top of the chicken

2017-09-20_09-48-47

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

