Orecchiette with wet garlic , broad beans ,rocket and feta salad

Orecchiette with wet garlic , broad beans rocket and feta salad

Maybe I should call this blog Girl Eating Garlic it certainly features quite heavily, pretty much every savory recipe and trust me I am working my way up to Garlic Ice Cream

Wet Garlic

The vegebox has a nice suprise this week Wet Garlic ,I confess I thought they were giant spring onions . It is the new season garlic fresh from the ground and still green less pungent and more easily digestable

Broad Beans

Also from the vegebox some delicious broad beans which I adore . Popping them out the pods if fun the fleecy pod lining ,however I was surprised there is a new trend to peel the individual beans , removing the skin to reveal a brilliant green pod, I blame poncy chefs and Marks and Spencers salads.

So to peel or not to peel , well the great English cook Prue Leith once famously remarked “Life’s too short to stuff a mushroom” . Personally my lifes to short to peel a pile of broad beans ( for the record summer salad gurus Sam and Sam of Moro reckon if they are larger than you thumbnail i.e. late seeason. Actually I really like the texture of of a broad bean sliding out of its skin in my mouth.

This kind of pasta salad is a great way of using up wilted salad here rocket acts as a green herb rather than a salad leaf and quickyl cures in the salad .Such fresh and seasonal ingredients deserved a slosh of fancy olive oil

Puglia Olive Oil

Orecchiette with wet garlic , broad beans rocket and feta salad

Per person
75g of dried pasta orecchiette is good becuase it forms little cups that the beans slip into
2 tbsp crumbled feta cheese
2 tbsp finely chopped wet garlic
Handful of rocket
Handful of fresh broad beans
Half a lemon for squeezing
Freshly ground black pepper

  1. Boil the orichette and broad beans in salted water for 10 minutes
  2. Drain while warm drizzle with olive oil , garlic and a squeeze of fresh lemon juice
  3. Mix in the feta cheese rocket ( or other peppery leaf)
  4. Grind over fresh black pepper

3 Comments

Leave a comment