Mutton Tagine

As I mentioned in my previous post our new solar panels generate electricity during the day with no storage any energy we don’t use goes to the National Grid and a feed in-tariff causes a reduction in our overall energy bill.

However I am really keen to use our free daytime electricity, this poses a problem as it  means doing most of  cooking in daylight hours not always convenient if you want to leave the house.

 However I had been reading in posts on frugal cooking and many of them mention  about electric crockpots and slow cookers which promised for minimal effort preparing ingredients in the morning  and low levels of energy consumption delicious cheap cuts of meats transformed by  long and slow cooking during the day into delicacies by the evening.

It’s been one of the best Christmas presents ever , barely a day has passed since Christmas that I haven’t used it for stews and casseroles but also for pasta sauces and softening chick peas for hummus.

I was initially worried that somehow I wouldn’t get the colour but so far I have not bothered to brown the meat and everything still comes out perfectly caramalised

Mutton ( or Lamb)  Tagine , is one of the most recent dishes a long-standing favourite of mine , however I have  usually cook it in a Le Cruset in the oven but wanted to see how this dish would work in a slow cooker .

Mutton likes to be cooked slow , so the meat can softened and fall off the bones .   The cooking juices combine with spices to soften the fruit and chick peas  producing a rich fruit spicy sauce. I could eat is everyday but it is also perfect cold in wraps with some fresh coriander and spinach for packed lunches.

I use a combination of the meat and dried fruits, apricots, dates sultanas raisins, sometimes I will add root vegetables I have posted before it is the only way a can get through mountains of winter turnips

Mutton Tagine

1kg  mutton shoulder ( usually half a shoulder) no need to dice place in the slow cooker whole
200ml of water
2 handfuls of dried dates
2 handfuls of golden sultanas
1 tbsp of ras-al-hanout ( A Morrocan mix of spices including cardamom, clove, cinnamon, ground chili peppers, coriander, cumin, nutmeg, peppercorn, and turmeric.)
1 tsp of dried chillis finely chopped
200g of dried chick peas
1 large onion finely sliced
3 cloves of garlic finely chopped
1 glug of sherry

To serve : Fresh coriander leaves

  1. Soak the chick peas overnight in water
  2. Place all the ingredients into the slow cooker and cook on low for 8 hours , alternatively place the ingredients in a Le Cruset in the oven for 150degC for 3.5 hours.
  3. To serve pull the meat  in chunks off the bone , stir in some fresh coriander leaves serve with plenty of the sauce over cous cous

Jerk Mutton StewChicken Stew by you.

6 Comments

  1. I broke my third slow cooker a couple of months ago, and replaced it with one that cost just £7 from Asda. It does everything it needs to do – it just heats food slowly – and if there’s anybody out there looking wondering about the joys of slow cooking, this particular one is probably a good, low-risk intro. Even if you only use it a few times, it’s only seven quid…

    Mutton is perfect for a slow cooker. It’s packed with flavour, more so than lamb, but it really benefits from long, slow cooking. It’s my go-to meat for curries now, and I’m lucky enough to be able to get it on the bone from the friendly Asian supermarket on the way back from work. The bone adds yet more flavour on a low simmer.

  2. I am considering buying a slow cooker for my daughter. Interesting to read about the Asda one. Could I ask which brand you have? Recipe looks yummy!

  3. Hi Becky!

    Love the blog but had to stop reading as it made me so damn hungry! Question, you mentioned the goat meat butchers in Nottingham, are they in the located in the market/shopping centre?

  4. My lamb tagine is simmering away on the stove right now as I have neither Le Creuset or slow cooker, although I might be going to Asda tomorrow! It looks and smells wonderful – the Ras-al-Hanout mix you proffered was not too far away from the stuff I bought back from Morocco earlier this year, and the addition of chick peas and dates really bought it all back. I’m going with diced lamb – not perfect, but what was in my fridge, so I’ll let you know how it goes. Planning on having it for tea tomorrow so it gets ages 🙂

    What ratio do you combine your spices for the ras-al-hanout? I kind of just put in similar amounts of each, and then lots of a large, black, smokey chilli I picked up at the south devon chilli farm (http://www.southdevonchillifarm.co.uk).

  5. Mmm cooking it AGAIN! love this recipe, can’t wait for dinner now. Going to go with some cumin roasted carrots as a side dish as we have about 50 carrots left over from Christmas. nom nom.

Leave a comment