Kale and Smoked Mackerel Kedgeree.

IMG_20150208_202411

I was saying yesterday , I hate cooking. The thing that used to be my relaxation has rapidly become a miserable depressing chore. Done whilst a child wines or cries. Shopping done on sterile online shopping. And worst since I got pregnant with Isobel ( who is now 3 months old and lovely) , I am actually happiest with a sandwich and a packet of crisps. Is it hormonal , I don’t know all I do know is I need to beat this because it isn’t me and I owe them better

So once a week a new lovely blogged dish, first a kedgeree packed full of goodness tastes amazing.

Kale and Mackerel Kedgeree

For two people

150g of brown rice
2 eggs
200g of smoked mackerel
4 handfuls of chopped curly kale
1 medium red onion
1 tbsp garam masala
1 TSP nigella seeds
1 TSP tumeric
4 tbsp sunflower oil.
Handful of chopped coriander
Half a lemon – zest and juice.

For 2 people

Cook the rice according to the packet instructions , put the eggs in the pan for the last 10 minutes to hardboil  ( I pressure cook my brown rice , 5 mins on 2 you can out the eggs in too)
Fry the onions , kale in the spices and oil til softened
Add the rice and cook for a further 10 minutes stirring well
Add the mackerel and lemon zest and juice
Stir through the coriander and serve with the eggs cut into quarters

2 Comments

  1. Glad to see you back. I always enjoy the look of your food and used to cook your spicy pork shoulder with Chinese spicing all the time when my kids were very wee – it made me feel sane. Hang in there, it will pass and you’ll get the bug back. Tiredness is a killer

Leave a comment