Pork Chops with Gooseberry and Sage Sauce

Grilled Pork Chops with Gooseberry and Sage Sauce by you.

I was very excited last week to find gooseberries in the greengrocer , I used to eat so many unripe gooseberries from my grans garden they gave me tummy ache. When I finally learnt some patiences and they ripend I love the sensation of them popping in my mouth and over my chin,  sour and sweet.

I was trying to think what to do with them Gooseberry , crumble or fool is a classic.  But I had a thought spring recipes were bursting with pork and rhubarb recipes exclaiming the delights of fatty fatty pork and the acidity of rhubarb. A recent convert to the delights of speedy pork chops for dinner,  I wondered if the same could be said for tart gooseberries. Of a quick google showed it wasn’t an original thought Gooseberry sauce is also good with Mackerel and Duck Breast  too so I thought I would be onto a good thing.

The result combining gooseberry with leaves from our rampant sage plants was delcious and fantastic with pork chops, I will be playing around with this recipe and perhaps trying it with some mackerel if we get near the seaside this year. Sadly it photographs a bit like snot but you cannot have everything.

Gooseberry and Sage Sauce

200g of gooseberries
50ml of water
1 heaped tbsp of sugar
1 handful of fresh sage
Salt and Pepper

  1. Bring the gooseberries to a gentle simmer in the water
  2. Add the sugar and sage and cook for 5 minutes until the gooseberries have broken down
  3. Taste but makes sure you blow on the sauce boiling fruit can do serious damage to your tastebuds add more sugar if it is too sour
  4. Season with a little salt and pepper

Pork Chops
Season the pork chops well with salt and pepper
Place under a medium grill for 10 minutes or so turning once
Allow to rest for a few minutes before serving with the sauce

9 Comments

  1. delicious
    gooseberries (I miss them here in rome)
    sage – having a phase so this fit in perfectly
    a nice pork chop is very high up on my list.

  2. I just came across your blog after Googling pork and gooseberries and realised I was thinking along much the same lines as you. I got some gooseberries in my organic vegbox this morning and have a healthy sage plant out on my roof terrace, so will give your sauce a go this evening. As someone trying to do a food blog myself, and sometimes struggling with food-flattering photos, your comment about the sauce photographing like snot really made me laugh out loud! Thanks!

Leave a comment