Dim Sum

Dim Sum for Dinner

We have been catching up recently with bands , last week Howlin Rain at the Croft and yesterday Black Mountain at the Trinity Centre.

Before heading off for some psychadelic rock , I wanted to fill us up with some light spicy food , I really like dim sum even the words dim sum taste lovely in your mouth. Having bought dim sum ready made from the local Chinese supermarket for years , I have often had them as a quick treat before going out , however read made they tend to have a a high pork content which while tasty is not recommended for the lovely boyfriend who is trying to cut down on saturated fat and salt .

Luckily I have recently discovered that like that other impressively delicate looking dish , sushi , dim sum are easy and economical to make yourself , even the perfectionist in me can allow other people to help fill the ready made wrappers that are available from Chinese supermarkets with tasty healthy vegetarians options.

Shitake Mushrooms

The supermarket had some shitake mushrooms reduced combined these will some leeks from the vegebox for a leek and shitake mushroom filling . Since I am still trying to bring the boyfreind around to the love of tofu the second set had to contain some well flavoured tofu and spring onion.

Shitake Mushroom and Leek

5 shitake mushrooms finely slices
1 small leek chopped into thin matchstick lenghts
2 tbsp of dark soy sauce.

Simmer together the ingredients in a pan until the leeks have softened .
allow to cool slightly before filling

Tofu Chilli Spring Onion Coriander and Garlic

75g of firm white tofu , cut into 1/2cm cubmes
2 tbsp Chill Garlic Paste
2 tbsp fresh coriander chopped
1 spring onion finely chopped

Mix together all the ingredients and use to fill wrappers

Making dumplings…

Each of these fillings makes enough for 8 dumpings, made simply by placing the filling into the centre of a wonton/dumping wrapper , rubbing a wet finger around the edge of the wrapper and bringing up the edges to form a sack shape

Raw Dim Sum

The dumping can them be steamed using a bamboo steamer , place the dumpings over a pan of fast boiling water place on a simmer and allow to steam for 3 minutes. Place the dumpings from the steamer on a plate a serve with a dish containing soy sauce and finely chopped chilli and fresh coriander

Dim Sum in the Steamer

3 Comments

  1. These look like great, simple dumplings – nice photos!

    Thank you for adding me as a link (I think you’re the first to do so!!) Your flickr pics of the mushrooms are incredible. I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything like them. Just wild…Anyway, great blog, lots of older posts for me to check out!

  2. Hi!I really like browsing on your website..Like you, cooking is not just a habit for me but a way of life. Although I lack proper training (since my parents wanted me to be a Nurse rather than a Chef!), I am planning to take culinary arts soon if I have enough budget. I am saving for what I believe will truly make me happy. That is, cook for everyone’s tongue! Keep it up! Publish more recipes..:) I’ve tried some of your recipes and my friends were craving for more..they kept on asking for your recipe and I always tell them to RESEARCH! hahahahaha..

Leave a comment