Pork Chops with Cider and Rosemary

Pork Chops with Cider and Rosemary

Its a standing joke that as a West Country girl I do love my cider after a long days walking. ( or at a festival – proper cider I hasten to add that doesn’t have cubes of ice in it !)  So was delghted when my boyfreind cooked this lovely dish on Friday night its a delicious rich dish that I guarantee  sees me dipping a mashed potato coated finger back into the pan for more of the delicious sauce .

Pork Chops with Cider and Rosemary

Two Pork Chops
2 tbps of olive oil
1 knob of butter
2 tbsp of rosemary finely chopped
1 medium onion finely chopped
3 cloves of garlic finely chopped
300ml of aged cider

  1. Turn the oven on to 180degC
  2. Season the pork chops on both sides with salt and better
  3. In an oven proof lidded saucepan fry the pork chops in butter and olive oil
  4. Remove the pork chops leave to rest
  5. Add the onions , garlic and rosemary to the pan , fry til soft and brown
  6. Add the cider to the pan to deglaze bring to a simmer and add the pork chops back to the pan
  7. Cover and place in the for 15 minutes with the lid on and 15 minutes with the lid off
  8. To serve place the pork chops on the plates and whisk the creme fraiche or cream into the sauce , ladle the sauce over the pork chops

Serve with mustard mash and cabbage


9 Comments

  1. Gotta remain cool for the summer with some nice clean ice drinks. These points are wonderful and I just hope everybody stays well hydrated with good refreshing clean ice in their favorite drink and celebrate how great life is!

  2. Found this recipe after I’d been given some pork chops (which generally I’m not a huge fan of!). Tried it out and my husband raved about the results and the pork was cooked nicely, not dry. However, I cooked the pork for 2.5 mins each side in the pan and 15mins in the oven with the lid on – did not need another 15mins in the oven (for me anyway) and was not pink inside when checked.
    The sauce was delicious and the idea of wholegrain mustard mash inspirational!

  3. This is the best, juicy, tasty, tender pork chops I have ever tried! I used sweet onion and medium sweet cider which balanced really well with cabbage and creme fraiche. This is very easy dish to impress!

Leave a comment