Oxtail Stew and Flapjack

Oxtail Stew

Have had one of those blessed days . I got up early to mop the floor of my flat whilst downing a pot of tea and marmite and banana sandwiches ( do not knock it unless you have tried it ) plus I suspect bursting with nutrition….

I am craving .....Banana and Marmite Sandwiches

I had had a lovely Friday night making flapjack , chicken stew and oxtail stew so feeling domestic godess-like I like to get as many dishes in the oven as possible and dancing round the flat listening to music way to loud partly to drown out the noise of the pimp arguing with the crack-whore on the street …. I say arguing it was mostly just yelling Fuck at eachother.

Managed to get out to the woods good and early , the light was just being stunning after a good few hours of walking barely seeing a soul but harassing a good few dogs remembering to take of my earflaps hat that for some reason scare the pants of the ( I might put a picture up here of it someday). The fungi are definitely on their way out but its been a fun autumn so I won’t complain

Quartetthe ending of the agaricspfffffftt

got back home and snuggled down with the Saturday papers a pot of tea and aforementioned flapjack ..I have distributed half to the neighbours way too moreish to keep in the flat.

Post Walk Flapjack

Flapjack

Made with oats cranberries hemp seeds , pumpkin seeds , sunflower seed goji berries.
* 250g oats
* 250g soft light brown sugar
* 225g butter
6 tbsp of golden syrup
* 100g of the cranberries hemp seeds , pumpkin seeds , sunflower seed goji berries.
Baked at 175degC for 30 mins , I found it best to then leave overnight and cut the next day

After being fairly sociable last weekend figured I had earned a weekend of hibernating so settled down with new pile of books and oxtail stew , I thought mentioning I was planning such a horrible sounding supper would put people off but I wound up with company anyhow and the usual discussion as to why I wouldn’t eat til I had taken a picture.

Oxtail Stew

Oxtail Stew

Oxtails, onions, carrots, red chilli, red wine , garlic, dried thyme thrown together in a pot.Place on a low oven for pretty much a long as you can …… but reckon this probably had 2 hours over two days , plus its a heavy pot that retains a lot of heat . To serve stir in a can of butter beans and sprinkle with fresh thyme if you have it.

Its probably a further sign of my deep seeded disorders but these days make me indescribably happy just the right level of exertion and inactivity . As I write I am contemplating going and dipping some more bread in the gravy…oh the joys of living alone….. no-one to witness my depravity….sssssshhhhh

1 Comment

Leave a comment