Rhubarb and Chili Pulled Pork ( Pressure Cooker)

photo

Slow cooked pork shoulder has become a favourite in this house and on the blog from the links – with chipolte sauce, jerk seasoning , five spice , gochujang ( Korean Red Pepper Sauce) . It;s a long cook in the oven even longer in the slow cooker so here is a cheat using the pressuer cooker ,  50 minutes in the pressure cooker a 1.5 kilo pork shoulder falls apart.

The meat will need to be shredded and popped under a hot grill with all the cooking juices for 15 minutes stir ensures you get some nice crispy bits. I know it’s cheating but I just can’t help myslef and in my time-deprived post baby world it’s perfect.

Most recently with the candy pink forced rhubarb giving way to some greener woody stems my uses of rhubarb turn a little savory. So pork with rhubarb, it’s fantastic at cutting through the fattiness -think apple sauce but with more of a bite.

I though here it would give the sweet and sour pork a kick and boy did it ever, bet even those who don’t like rhubarb would love this dish.

I served with with chinese pancakes and some shredded spring greens.

Rhubarb and Chilli Pulled Pork

1.5kg of pork shoulder, remove any rind but leave on the fat

4 cloves of garlic peeled
400g of rhubarb roughly chopped
3 tsp of dried chilli flakes
1 star anise
4 tbsp of brown sugar

Mix all the ingredients together

Oven Version

  1. Rub the pork shoulder all over with the ingredients above
  2. Place it in a large lidded cast iron pot and put in the oven at 150degC for 3 hours.
  3. Finally place the pork in a deep roasting tray with the juices and place in a hot oven 190degC for 25 minutes
  4. Remove the pork once the outside is caramalised the sauces will reduce.

Slow Cooker

  1. Place all the ingredients in the slow cooker on LOW for 6 hours
  2. Pull apart the pork mix through with the juices place under a hot grill for 15minutes or a hot oven 190degC for 25 minutes. Stir halfway through

Pressure Cooker

  1. Rub the pork with the ingredients above
  2. Place in the pressure cooker on a trivet and cook on HIGH for 1 hr
  3. Remove from the pressure cooker.Pull apart the pork mix through with the juices place under a hot grill for 15minutes or a hot oven 190degC for 25 minutes. Stir halfway through.

Alternative Pork Seasonings , if you don’t fancy the rhubarb and chilli here are some past favourites

photo

Jerk Pulled Pork

Chipolte  using Thomasina Miers Chipoltes en adobo

Original recipe here

photo

Five Spice with a five spice sauce delicious either in chinese pancakes or stuffed into char sui buns.

Gochugang  Korean Red Pepper Paste (  recipe here)

photophoto






var addthis_config = {“data_track_addressbar”:true};

8 Comments

  1. Thank you! I’m am so happy to have a savory, meat filled Rhubarb recipe. I’m trying this tomorrow and I think I’ll serve it in corn tortillas. Does it need any particular sides or toppings?

  2. All of these are really speaking to me right now. Granted, I missed dinner, but it also just looks great. I have a pressure cooker sitting in the back of the pantry that I don’t even know how to use – I should really get on that.

  3. I’m always looking for different ways to use rhubarb besides in desserts. This looks like a keeper. I usually season then sear my meat (beef, pork and/or chicken) in a skillet on all sides before adding to a crock-pot or slow cooking in the oven. This is one way to create the crusty caramelized bits in pulled meat. I like your way, caramelizes the pan juices after cooking.

Leave a comment